Endless reboot loop after ESS install

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Taxlave, Jun 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Taxlave

    Taxlave Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Greetings all!

    I purchased a 2-computer, 2-year license for ESS after trying for 30 days. Installed on laptop running Vista, no problem. Installed on desktop running XP sp3 and didn't appear to have any problems until I rebooted. XP would load, ESS would load and then reboot-endlessly. I can uninstall in safe mode and rebooting problem is solved, but if I reinstall ESS everything works until I reboot.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    There is/was a Looping Re-Boot issue with "Windows starting" via the XP SP3 upgrade. Your situation reads admittedly different since no other App was discussed as the potential cause, But since both You & It involve "Looping Re-boot", read the link below in the hope you have an AMD processor -plus potential for another Looping Re-boot dealing with a Raid driver not in your computer .

    [FONT=&quot]http://aumha.net/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=33238[/FONT]
     
  3. Taxlave

    Taxlave Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for the reply, but even though I do have an AMD processor, the SP3 problem and the RAID are n/a in my situation. Reboot loop only occurs with ESS installed.
     
  4. Taxlave

    Taxlave Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Figured it out-ESS and Winternals don't play nice together. Specifically, tdimsys.sys was the culprit. Uninstalled Winternals, no more system reboot.
     
  5. adrianr

    adrianr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I have the exact same problem with re-booting shortly after the desktop appears. However, whilst I do have an AMD processor, I do not have an 'intelPPM' service to modify. I also have not installed Winternals. Please can you tell me how you identified which service was causing the conflict.

    Since I purchased ESET Smart Security (and updated with the last two releases), every time I reboot I have to 'start last known good configuration', wait for an error from ESET that the kernel could not be stated, uninstall, re-boot, re-install, then hope it is a long time before I need to re-boot again! Not very practical...

    Yours is the first post I've seen on this forum with the same problem, so I doubt that ESET will be prepared to give me a refund. I think the problem is almost certainly with my windows configuration, but I refuse to start a fresh install as it will take months to get all my software re-installed and configured as I need it!
     
  6. Taxlave

    Taxlave Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I downloaded a debugging file from Microsoft that would read the minidump files. Each minidump suggested that the tdisys.sys (I think that was the name) was probably the cause of the crash. Google on minidump reader and download the Microsoft file.
     
  7. adrianr

    adrianr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the tip! I've been able to identify that rpcxdr.sys is the likely cause for me. I'd never come across minidumps before; why can't they be a simple text file, at least for the part we need to read??!!

    Bit of a dilemna now, that is a part of unix services, allowing NFS access on my network (much quicker than SMB). Looks like I will have to find an alternative server to achieve the same result:doubt:
     
  8. adrianr

    adrianr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Well, sadly, it may not have been a problem with MS SFU after all. I removed it, but now I find I cannot even install ESETo_O The install gets to approx 80%, as far as 'driver install' (I think, though the words are on the screen for a fraction of a second only), before rolling back. 'please try again later'...

    I have never had such trouble with any other software; Norton and Zonealarm all ran without problems in the past, apart from Norton being the usual resource-hog. ESET, any ideas or suggestions to stop me wishing I'd stayed with Zonealarm?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.