Enable protection

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by jim b, May 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jim b

    jim b Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    This problem has been happening for a while now, so I would appriecate somebodys thoughts/ fix.

    When I enable all protection on my computer, it reports that all known products are already blocked. However, a day or two later, when I check to see if everything is still ok, it says 50 or so products are not blocked so I need protect again.

    Just before I start sounding thick, I HAVE NOT updated the spyware blaster immunization database when this happens.

    Anyway, thanks in advance
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Hello,

    Which protection is being disabled(activeX, resticted sites)?

    Could u also list your other security apps please?



    snowbound
     
  3. jim b

    jim b Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Just says the on the main screen that so many items have been disabled on the Internet Explorer protection. However, sometimes restricted sites become 'un-disabled' as well.

    I am running (security wise):
    AVG Free
    AD-Aware SE
    Spybot 1.4
    Zonealarm
    Windows Defender Beta 2 Refresh (build. 1347)
     
  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Does the disabling of the items seem to happen after updating or scanning with one of your other anti-spyware security apps?

    If not, is there any pattern to this occurring that u have noticed?

    They are not on your list but just to confirm, u are not running Spysweeper or IE-SPYAD?



    snowbound
     
  5. jim b

    jim b Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    No im not running Spysweeper or IE-SPYAD.

    There doesnt really seem any logical pattern to the disabling of these items. Sometimes it runs ok others it doesnt and disables things of which I have to re-enable.
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Can you try disabling Windows Defender for a few days to see if the issue goes away.

    Cheers :D
     
  7. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    In regards to Spybot....are you using it's Immunization feature ?

    If so....are you finding that some of Spywareblasters protection is becoming disabled perhaps after disabling Spybot's Immunization ?
     
  8. jim b

    jim b Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I do use the Spybot immunisation feature. However, I have never disabled its immunisation. I will try disabling MS windows defender.

    Thanks for helping,
    Jim
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.