Emsisoft Mamutu 3.0.0.11 Released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by guest, Jul 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guest

    guest Guest

    http://www.emsisoft.de/de/software/mamutu/
     
  2. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  3. guest

    guest Guest

  4. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Some screenshots for those interested:

    mamutu1.jpg

    mamutu2.jpg

    mamutu3.jpg

    mamutu4.jpg

    :)
     
  5. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    can i now uncheck the betaupdate function?
     
  6. .....

    ..... Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    I did that earlier and then tried the "check for updates" - it found no updates, i think its safe to do so.
     
  7. squid13

    squid13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Cantonment, FL
    I thought I'd download it and give it a try since it's now 64 bit. When I started to install it was going to install in the Program File x86 or 32 bit. If this is 64 bit why doesn't it install in the Program File for 64 bit. The other programs that are 64 bit, the installer determines weather you have 32 or 64 and installs in the appropriate file.
     
  8. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    there are a few programs that do the same. 64 bit dr web installs in the x86 program files. when you explore you should find 64 bit program/engine in it's files.
     
  9. squid13

    squid13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Cantonment, FL
    That's probably it, I'll give it another go. Would there be a lot of conflict between Mamutu and ThreatFire if both were installed on the same machine.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2010
  10. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Mamutu 3.0 is not a native x64 application (only those install in x64 folder). The binaries are 32 bit but use 64 bit drivers to enable the behavior blocker engine on x64 systems.

    There would not be any advantage in protection or speed if we port it completely to x64 native code.
     
  11. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Fantastic program. Due for renewal in a few days, will gladly spend the cash on this. :thumb:
     
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    ThreatFire has been 64bit for quite a while so this isn't the first BB available for 64bit systems...
     
  13. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Nobody said that actually. ;)

    Most behavior blockers are running with limited features on x64. In Mamutu 3.0 there is no difference in 32 and 64 bit use.
     
  14. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    @ guest, still got that microjoin exploit then run it against Mamatu.

    Not a peep from Mamatu at default settings here?
     
  15. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I got an email about it:

     
  16. LuckMan212

    LuckMan212 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    252
    so how is this Mamutu on resources? its been a looong time since i've run any resident a/v, a/t, hips or whatever you're calling them these days. Win7 x64 + LUA + UAC + DEP + SEHOP + Firewall + Common Sense has been enough to keep me 100% clean for the past 2+ years. <knocks wood>

    but I would consider adding some realtime stuff if it's lightweight and x64 native which this seems to be. I remember wanting to run Online Armor years and years ago when it was still in beta (2005 or 2006?) but I never could because I was on x64.
     
  17. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    You can run Mamutu on its own. Very light. Probably first couple of days there's a delay, but once it analyses the common processes launching/running, you don't notice it's there.

    Not with copying and pasting, browsing, nothing. I noticed the 'hijackfree' element in it is quicker to load now, and the window can be resized. Interface is quicker than before.

    I know personal AV tests aren't for everyone, but you'll see on youtube, Mamutu on its own blocks the majority of threats, most videos, blocks all threats. To me, it running alone is enough with the occasional on-demand scan.

    With your setup, give it a go. Just make sure you give it a couple of days to settle in. I haven't had to exclude any processes from being monitored, but if you were using photoshop a lot for example, which isn't being targeted by malware writers, could always exclude these processes.
     
  18. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    It would be very interesting if someone 'd test it with malwares and rootkits.:)
     
  19. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    There are some real malware tests available on YouTube:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7cWaxmo24iI
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_285iaRGd8o

    But they missed an important thing: Default action on Mamutu alerts is to block the alerted behavior, but let the file remain inactively on disk.

    That makes the verfication scans with other scanners at the end a bit useless. All malware files are of course still there, but not active. If the reviewers would have used the quarantine option on the alerts, the files would have been gone.
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i did test it with malware like a month ago ofcourse with high security level and it got them all like people testify;) :thumb:
     
  21. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Quite probably there would be,it's never advisable to run 2 products of the same type in real-time IMO.
     
  22. LuckMan212

    LuckMan212 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    252
    one thing I noticed with the freeware (emergency kit) was that it is not multi-monitor compatible. By this I mean the windows & menus are positioned "off screen" partially so they are impossible to navigate. The only way I was able to solve this was to temporarily disable 2 of my external displays. I don't know if this affects the paid version as well but I would guess they share common code base. Would want to get that resolved before I purchased it......anyone else using it on multi monitors?
     
  23. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    Took off Avast, just loaded Mamutu 3.0 trial. I keep looking for a way around using A-V's, maybe this will be a good match for Sandboxie and Prevx, if I do on-demand scans every few days.

    EDIT: Mamutu is using 30,000k to start. Not experiencing any slowdowns.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2010
  24. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    I have an active Mamutu icon in my taskbar now, with the glowing box around it. When I hold the cursor over it, it pops up a window that says Mamutu Alert at the top, but nothing else in the box. Any idea how to get rid of this active icon in my taskbar?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.