Emsisoft Antimalware causing Firefox Application Error!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ams963, Apr 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Hi,

    After closing Firefox a small window appears with the title saying firefox.exe - Application Error.

    If I click OK the appears again, and again and again. No matter how much I click OK or try to Exit the window it just will not go away.

    The window says, The intruction at "0x1fb37800" referenced memory at "0x1fb37800". The memory could not be "read".

    Click on OK to terminate the program"

    And this happens particularly after installing Emsisoft Antimalware. I tried it twice and can confirm that the problem does appears after installing EAM.

    Please kindly help me.

    Best Wishes,
    ams963
     
  2. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
  3. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
  4. markusg

    markusg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    248
  5. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    417
    I found what can solve (at least temporarily) the problem. I know you-re using EAM together with WSA. This causes a conflict, I'm with the same combo at the moment and had the same error on closing Firefox. When I shut down temporarily WSA, there were no more errors. Then I did something else - enabled WSA but on the Identity/Privacy button, then View/Edit protected applications, I put the check for Firefox to allow instead of protect and the problem is solved. I know that this lowers the security scope of WSA protecting sensitive info but for now this is the solution for me. The faulting module of the Firefox error though belongs to EAM - it is a2hooks32.dll, belonging to the behavior blocker part (you can see it in the Event viewer). May be it is overkill 2 behaviour blocking applications monitoring firefox at once.

    P.S. I found a better solution (protection-wise I think). Enabled again the protected mode for Firefox in WSA Identity/Privacy protection and excluded Firefox in EAM behaviour blocker guard by adding it manually. No more errors for the time-being.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2012
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
  7. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
  8. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    WSA is Webroot Security Anywhere.

    Pick one (EAM or WSA) and stick with it. Dont use 2 real time. If you want the online protection in browser go with PrevX SafeOnline from their Facebook offer.
     
  9. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    417
    At the moment they are working perfectly together. If I want less overheat, I'll set EAM to check files on execute only.
    Anyway I don't see why NIS 2012 or NOD32 should work OK together with WSA and EAM wouldn't.
     
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    +1

    thats the main rule whatever single experience will tell.
    at least both will fail and crying for help will come.

    the point is that those users didnt had any issue where normal way of infection
    was passed. any actual av can handle the most of malware, but not the
    newerly infections or most of the 15.000 daily variations of it.
    so behavior blocker, cloud or sandboxes ar THE upcoming features.
    and those ones need solely access to work properly.
     
  11. Coresix

    Coresix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    United States of America
    I had the same issue and through a bit of problem solving I found that what was causing the error was a conflict between the Identity Protection with WRSA and Emsisoft -- the faulting module was A2hooks.dll. I had to turn it off for Firefox for the time being. I'm pretty sure both companies know about it.

    -Coresix
     
  12. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    I have a problem on XP Pro x 32 right now with Online Armor Premium causing an application error in Firefox as well. It said something about Firefox not being able to read from memory. I checked my RAM, and it all tested ok. If i shut down OA then I don't have this problem. Hopefully it will be fixed in an upcoming build soon.
     
  13. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2012
  14. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    ah! I see. Thank you for the assurance. Both companies know about it now. I've informed Joe and he is well aware though Emsisoft already fixed it.
     
  15. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    oh! OA causing as well?.....are you using OA with WSA also in that PC?....

    not unless you report it to Emsisoft......go to the forum and ask to fix the prob....
     
  16. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    Yep, I was using OA, and WSA together on that PC. I had to roll it back to an earlier image though now for beta testing purposes. I'm getting ready to see if the problem has been fixed in the latest beta. If it hasn't then I will send a ticket. I did not have time to report it at the time I discovered the bug.
     
  17. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    great then:thumb:....well don't forget to post here is the prob with OA & WSA still persists if and when you try them on your pc.....
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.