Emsisoft Anti-Malware & Emsisoft Internet Security 12

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Mops21, Sep 14, 2016.

  1. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    436
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What does it matter if a beta went public, I really don't see the problem. The more testers the better I think.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I'll give you an example. On one of my machines occasionally the beta causes a hang/lock up. Not good since this is my business machine, so normally I wouldn't run a beta. But I want the beta features. So what I i am doing is running with updates off. It doesn't bother me not getting signature updates during business hours. Then before I do an update, I take an incremental image with Macrium. Then do the update. If it's okay, I go on. If it turns out bad I just restore the image. So far with the last few updates, all has been good.
     
  3. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    "Emsisoft Anti-Malware & Emsisoft Internet Security 12"

    peter I agree with you 100%. I am wondering if my issues were only with the internet security version? are all of you using that or just the antimalware?
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I am using EIS. Normally running a beta on a production machine is a no no. But with good imaging and my success with Emsisoft, I risk it.

    Pete
     
  5. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    peter then I am wondering if it was one of my other security programs. but as I posted above I did have a few that it did not disable too. one of the reasons I use MF is because of your posting and am glad I do. EIS as you see really did a number on my test machine and what was worse is what happened after I removed it vis safe mode. lost my router connection.which I would keep newer imgs of my machine so I don't have to do all the upgrades after reverting back.
    I have a usb 3 ultra stick I keep them on but I have not tried using them to do a restore. I just plug it into a front pc usb 2 port and it takes about an hour to restore back to an old image. now I am wondering if my pc will boot to one of my usb 3 ports on the back for faster restore?
     
  6. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    SHvFI

    it is a Sandisk Ultra USB 3.0 256 gig

    this is their site and says the transfer rate is three times faster then usb 2.0.

    only thing I don't know as of yet is my computer will boot to the usb 3.0 port.
    if I can not restore an img from within windows I boot to MF on my usb stick.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2016
  7. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,430
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Keyboards and Mice must be connected to a USB 2 Port cuz the USB 3 Ports don't load until later in the boot-up process. I have, however, done a Windows Reset/Restore (don't recall which) using a Windows Recovery Drive plugged into a USB 3 Port on a PC that would not boot into Windows (after a failed attempt to upgrade to Win 10 the first night it was available which got stuck and did not revert to Win 8.1. ) Dunno if your circumstances would lead to a different result.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2016
  8. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,430
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    The Speed Sandisk claims for a SanDisk Ultra USB 3.0 stick is 10X USB 2.0, not 3X USB 2.0 :)

    I assume that's read time. Write time should be about 25% less.
     
  9. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    http://support.emsisoft.com/topic/25466-beta-updates-–-2016-10-18/#entry160647

    http://support.emsisoft.com/topic/2...ware-emsisoft-internet-security-12-beta-test/

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2016
  10. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    Location:
    Germany
  11. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    227
    Hi. I am running Emsisoft Internet Security on a laptop and it is working great for me. I think it just updated to version 12 but I don't see anyway in the new interface to check what version I am running. I think there used to be and "info" link on the main screen in version 11 but I don't see that anymore. I feel like I am probably missing something obvious, but how do I check my version number in the new interface?
     
  12. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,550
    Location:
    Mumbai

    Attached Files:

  13. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    227
    Thanks! I suppose I might have figured that out sooner or later, but the help is appreciated. I am indeed update to version 12.0.0.6828.
     
  14. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    831
    All 3 just updated here
     
  15. thanhtai2009

    thanhtai2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    Vietnam
    Update process run flawlessly, no reboot required :thumb:
     
  16. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,550
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I had to reboot o_O
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,775
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I was rebooted :)

    On Thu 2016/10/20 5:57:17 AM GMT your computer crashed
    crash dump file: C:\WINDOWS\Minidump\102016-21703-01.dmp
    This was probably caused by the following module: epp.sys (Unloaded_epp.sys+0x4BB0)
    Bugcheck code: 0xCE (0xFFFFF801BFB84BB0, 0x10, 0xFFFFF801BFB84BB0, 0x0)
    Error: DRIVER_UNLOADED_WITHOUT_CANCELLING_PENDING_OPERATIONS
    file path: C:\Program Files\Emsisoft Anti-Malware\epp.sys
    product: Emsisoft Protection Platform
    company: Emsisoft Ltd
    description: Emsisoft Protection Platform Driver
    Bug check description: This indicates that a driver failed to cancel pending operations before unloading.
    This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
    A third party driver was identified as the probable root cause of this system error. It is suggested you look for an update for the following driver: epp.sys (Emsisoft Protection Platform Driver, Emsisoft Ltd).
    Google query: Emsisoft Ltd DRIVER_UNLOADED_WITHOUT_CANCELLING_PENDING_OPERATIONS

    It may have been due to another security soft, like NVT ERP.

    No problems after that though.
     
  18. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    Location:
    Germany
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,007
  20. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    Location:
    Germany
  21. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,980
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
  22. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,717
    Location:
    Gaia
    1) Yes. When your trial version expires, it turns into freeware.
    2) No. Just perform an update from last stable v11 to v12.
     
  23. Crystal_Lake_Camper

    Crystal_Lake_Camper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    98
    I removed norton security 2017 because of the ridiciously high renewal price. ( first year I paid 40 euro's for the second year a symantec representative told me it was going to be 60 euro's! ) bought revo unistaller pro and got emsi is license for free. my system runs much smoother and snappier with emsi , also the webbrowsing speed has been drastically improved. the only 2 downsides are the freezing at login screen , which does not happen every time I log in and the long boot up time.
     
  24. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I think you can stop that delay at log in by unchecking "Protect the computer even if no user is logged on" at Protection File Guard.
     
  25. Crystal_Lake_Camper

    Crystal_Lake_Camper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    98
    thanks gandalf will try that! :)
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.