Emsisoft Anti-Malware & Emsisoft Internet Security 10 available

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by emsisoft, May 10, 2015.

  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    I don't think you have to worry about that. They are good folks with great developers who listen. Fabian is quite attentive here in providing feedback to any questions you may have. I also don't use a AV and EAM is plenty.
     
  2. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,314
    Location:
    Adelaide
    As confident as you may be, this sounds like a recipe for disaster.

    I too have been thinking this. They seem to have nailed EAM as is - please don't go adding system cleaners, password managers, dog walkers etc.

    The one thing that keeps surprising me about EAM is just how untaxing it is on my system. To look at and use the program, it doesn't give off the impression of being feather-light, but it most certainly is.
     
  3. javagreen

    javagreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    Is it compatible with the latest Windows 10 build 10240? it didn't work on the previous build. I have a license but i'd want to install it only if it works...
     
  4. Werderforever

    Werderforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Posts:
    78
    Location:
    Germany
    Has somebody an idea? Perhaps Fabian? At the moment I cannot use EIS.
     
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Werderforever, I am sure Fabian will get to you soon. Whatever the issue, trust me, Emsisoft will resolve quickly.

    The Seeker, in their blog this is exactly what they said as to why they discontinued Online Armor. Resources to develop products are not free and in order to have kept it, it might have involved adding crap to their software which they are dead set against. I totally agree with them. OA time has passed and products move on. With EAM and EIS they have developed two plug and play products without all the crapola others find themselves engulfed in.
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Guys remember 10 is not released so EIS may or may not work. One of the recent builds messed up some network stuff and they are working thru it.
     
  7. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Not if you knew the specifics of how I run my ship. Default Deny SRP, HIPS, scripts-browser hardened as crazy. Restricted sandbox with only Firefox allowed access. Any new files sent to an isolated, sandboxed partition and scanned with VT Hash Check before unboxed... 50 opinions are better than 1. Files larger than 32 MB get MBAM and Hitman Pro (full scan), but I don't DL large files often. And that's just scraping the surface. If anything would happen to circumvent all my layers somehow I'm a reboot or reimage away from being right back in a pristine state.

    There's simply no need for a real-time AV on this setup. But I can't get any version of Windows since XP that locked down. Too many concessions have to be made, namely in terms of privacy but also security.
     
  8. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    Not long ago we removed a whole bunch of features we considered useless (Outlook plugin, cookie scan etc.). There is no point in adding useless crap like the features you just mentioned back in.

    There will be a new beta version of EAM and EIS shortly to fix a few issues that showed up in the latest builds. We will speed those updates up a bit to make sure they will be available for everyone at July 29th. I doubt EAM users will have any issues. EIS users may run into some minor hiccups as WFP and NDIS have been really shaky the past couple of builds. That being said, we will do our best to react to any unforeseen surprises the Windows 10 release throws our way as quickly as possible.
     
  9. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I hope the new EIS beta tries to fix the issue of not being able to go into sleep mode in my WIN7. I remember you said that you couldn't duplicate it to fix it, but maybe we'll get lucky. ;)
     
  10. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    We still haven't been able to replicate the problem. So if it is fixed, it was purely accidental.
     
  11. Werderforever

    Werderforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Posts:
    78
    Location:
    Germany
    Thank you trjam!:)
     
  12. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,314
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I am incredibly glad to hear this; thanks so much for taking a common sense approach.

    Incidentally, under Surf Protection, Privacy risks is set to 'Don't block' by default. I'm guessing this is so users aren't bothered by the pop-ups that the many tracking hosts out there will generate. Could Privacy risks be considered a complement to the well known ad blockers out there?
     
  13. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    It can be. But chances are you are better off importing privacy related filter lists to your ad blocker directly. Our Surf Protection works on a domain level, because that is the only level that works without snooping around in your encrypted traffic, which is something we simply refuse to do. The disadvantage though is that it is a bit coarse. The ad blocker in your browser on the other hand can filter based on the entire URL as well as referrers and circumstances, which allows it to be a lot more complete.
     
  14. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Some day it will happen. :doubt:
     
  15. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    We released a new beta version yesterday. You can get it by just opting into beta updates by enabling the "Enable beta updates" option under Settings/Updates. If you are having performance issues with Chrome at the moment or if you are running Windows 10 I strongly suggest you switch to the beta version as it includes important fixes for both. A full change log is available in our changeblog.
     
  16. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,314
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ah, thanks - that makes perfect sense. I think I'll leave 'Privacy risks' set to 'Don't block' and rely on my ad blocker, which is pretty comprehensive (uBlock Origin).

    Also, thank you so much for participating on these forums; it's great to have information directly from the horse's mouth, as it were.
     
  17. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    This could be set to 'Block silently' if one didn't want to be bothered by the pop-up alerts.
     
  18. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    Good choice. It is my preferred adblocker as well :).

    I try my best. Unfortunately I don't always have time to participate in all the communities that I want to.
     
  19. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,769
    I got this beta version last night, and have just discovered the right click context scanning is no longer working, i.e can't scan any downloads.
     
  20. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    14,096
    Location:
    UK
    It's working here on my Win 7 machine (not able to test on my XP machine at the moment)
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Indeed start/shutdown hangs seems fixed, however a side effect here is that the manage networks is empty...
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    As mentioned before, EIS isn't fully functional on Windows 10 yet as Microsoft managed to mess up some internal network sub-systems in one of the latest releases. We will hopefully have those issues sorted out soon.
     
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    OK! Thanks Fabian :thumb:
     
  24. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,769
    Thanks ...much appreciated.
     
  25. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,769
    Further to the earlier problem with context menu scanning, I have just went and updated EAM since I discovered that problem.

    The update a short time ago was very sluggish....

    ScreenShot_EAM_sluggish updating_01.gif ScreenShot_EAM_sluggish updating_02.gif ScreenShot_EAM_sluggish updating_03.gif
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.