Emsisoft Anti-Malware and Emsisoft Internet Security 9.0 Public Beta

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Fabian Wosar, May 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    We made some improvements in the latest beta versions. Let me know if that fixes the issue for you.

    I can't reproduce the issue. It can happen if the file is already deleted or the process image was renamed since the application started though.

    Did you happen to have the new "Block all traffic" feature active by accident?

    Can you retry using the latest beta please? We made some changes to the way status notifications work.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2014
  2. Ciach0

    Ciach0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    No, I'm think I'm not :). But I've done another update from v.4183 to v.4208 an hour ago. Unfortunately , the problem still occurs:
    błąd połączenia.png

    I've tried all options form "Protection status" menu (disable and enable all components, switch to offline mode, switch to game mode). Only disable all components is fixing my connection.
     
  3. Ciach0

    Ciach0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Ok, it could have happened. I've give a look when I'll be uninstalling another application.

    I'll try to do a clean install of v4208 and give a feedback.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,555
    I retested after seeing Fabian's second post. It is still broken here also.

    Pete

    PS I can't find "Block all network traffic"
     
  5. Ciach0

    Ciach0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Maybe it is called "Switch to offline mode"
     
  6. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    Canada
    Borked my internet connection too. It is the firewall that is causing this as I still have internet with all other protection activated.
     
  7. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,821
    Location:
    Canada
    Same here, even had a "BSOD" Reinstall V4183 and everything is fine
     
  8. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    Can you please send the mini dump of the crash to fw@emsisoft.com? Thanks.
     
  9. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,717
    No problems for me with the latest beta, but I am only running the AV version.
     
  10. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,821
    Location:
    Canada
    How do I do that?:confused:
     
  11. Ciach0

    Ciach0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Posts:
    37
  12. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    Wrong link. BSODs are not application crashes but system crashes.

    You can find the minidumps Windows creates during a BSOD inside C:\Windows\Minidump. If that folder contains a lot of files I suggest you narrow the correct file down using the file creation time.
     
  13. DarkyXxX

    DarkyXxX Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    Same here.
    Firewall blocked all Lan Connections.
     
  14. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    Canada
    Is this going to be fixed soon?
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,555
    I know they've identified the problem, but as of the time of this posting, the beta version on the update servers is bad. DO NOT DO THE UPDATE.

    Pete
     
  16. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,490
    Havent seen the Yellow again since the update. Good work.
     
  17. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Is there a beta license key for EIS 9? During the install process I get a message that the trial period for this product has already been used and it asks me if I want to switch to scanner-only freeware mode. I am sure I tried the beta when it was first announced but I am surprised to be locked out of the beta currently.
     
  18. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks for the update, Noob.

    Licenses are only extended while they are used. So if you tried the first beta and uninstalled the license would have been expired by now. I will send you a key via PM.
     
  19. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks for the license key Fabian!
     
  20. 93036

    93036 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    102
    Same here..."trial period for this product has already been used"...Just installed, when, last week? Uninstalled and mentioned it using the online survey.
     
  21. Ciach0

    Ciach0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    I wanted to make a clean install of 9.0.0.4208. Details of the file shows the correct version (downloaded from link at first page), but after installation I saw 9.0.0.4183 at main window. I've done a manual update to 9.0.0.4208. Unfortunately, problem with network access is still present.
    I suppose that Emsisoft is working hard to fix it, but when can we expect a next update?
    Good news is that I've done huge amount of restarts 9.0.0.4183 during last days and I haven't seen the "yellow icon" bug.
     
  22. Ciach0

    Ciach0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    A new version 9.0.0.4244 was published today. Unfortunately, despite the changelog contains information that firewall bug is fixed, that problem still occurs on my pc.
     
  23. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,717
    Location:
    Gaia
    If you are talking about network access bug, I do not see it being mentioned as fixed in the changelog.
     
  24. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    EIS is still beta and is new architecture for Emsi.
    I have every confidence Emsi will get this right and I'm grateful they are not rushing the EIS release :thumb:
     
  25. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,717
    Location:
    Gaia
    Very true. :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.