EMET 5.5 & Windows 10

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by amarildojr, Feb 28, 2016.

  1. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    I installed EMET 5.5 on Windows 10 build 1511 and I can't open it's GUI. Tried via Taskbar icon and via it's executable on it's folder.

    How can I know what the problem is?

    Is it OK to install multuple Visual C++ versions (from 2010 to 2015, both x86 and x64)?
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2016
  2. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,083
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Check whether the service is set to start AUTOMATICALLY in stead of DELAYED

    OK but not desirable, some prorams are so rigid they check for the version installed when the program was developed, others just check the availability of the run time libraries, so try removing the older ones.
     
  3. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    There's no EMET service! o_O ??
     
  4. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,083
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Have you check by running services.msc?

    upload_2016-2-29_4-49-21.png
     
  5. busy

    busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    106
    "Microsoft EMET Service"
     
  6. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    Sorry, I didn't pay much attention this time :thumb:

    It's running and it's set to "Automatic (Delayed Start)".
     
  7. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    OK, so after installing a racing game it complained that dx9 isn't installed. This happened on Windows 7, and all I had to do was to install "DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer".

    Do you think my issue with EMET it's related to this?
    And why would I need to install DX9 on Windows 10? I though it would have all versions of DirectX installed.

    https://i.imgur.com/fQ5uVj9.png

    @MisterB
    EDIT: Installing it now. Let's see what happens.
    EDIT: The game didn't open, neither EMET. Something's wrong with my Windows 10.

    I guess I'll give up on Windows for now. It will probably be easier to deal with the Debian repositories' problem I was having. But I'll sleep now, maybe I'll figure something out until I wake up.
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2016
  8. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    The default DirectX installation is only partial and to have the full libraries, you have to run the Direct X installer. A lot of Direct X components aren't needed for most apps but games and some emulation systems--Winuae is one--require it.
     
  9. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    301
    Location:
    Swiss
    * EMET not need DIrectX runtime installer
    * EMET not need any VS+ redist because it's included into setup, if anything is missing then it install it automatically of offers to install it, same like most programs. I only noticed e.g. the Mega Client not detect this (and possible some other programs too) but then simply install all redist packages, I usually not install the 'official' packages and home made ones because they not wasting time and installing always the latest .dll versions.
     
  10. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    I signed in with my Admin account and EMET opened there. However, I can't turn DEP on, EMET keeps saying Bitlocker cannot be suspended. I don't even have bitlocker installed since my Windows 10 is the Home edition. And all bitlocker services are already stopped.

    So I guess it was a permission malfunction (because EMET's GUI does ask me for my password).

    The racing game I showed above, it needs to open itself as Admin for some odd reason. And since my Windows 10 seem to have a problem with permissions, I guess that's why the game also won't open.

    I already de-activated Windows and Malwarebytes. Sorry Windows 10, but I will leave you for now :thumbd:
     
  11. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    That is very weird. I had the exact same bug when I installed Emet 5.5 in Windows 7 and I had to go back to Emet 5.2 but it worked normally in Windows 10.
     
  12. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    883
    Location:
    Triassic
    I have upgraded my W7/32 laptop to EMET 5.5, no problems, however I am still hesitant to upgrade my kid's W7/64 system because it has AMD/ATI drivers. The security stuff has been dropped in my lap. The system still has 5.0 installed and I understand there are security issues with this version that V5.5 addresses. If anybody knows otherwise, please let me know.
     
  13. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    You mean upgrade to Windows 10? I too have an AMD card and Windows 10 automatically installed the drivers for it, I didn't even have to restart :)
     
  14. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    883
    Location:
    Triassic
    No. My reference is to EMET only. I read in the 5.5 changelog that the release is having problems on systems with ATI.
     
  15. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    Oh, I see. Personally I didn't have any problems with it. My card is a R9 270X, Windows 10 automatically installed the 15.201 driver version. I tested Counter Strike 1.6, video recording, and OpenCL rendering with Blender. All went fine.

    I will test Windows 7 with the latest AMD drivers + EMET 5.5, probably tonight. If you want, I could give you an update of how everything went.
     
  16. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    Does anyone have an idea why EMET would try to stop BitLocker even though it's not started? And why I can't enable DEP system-wide?

    EDIT: I tried opening EMET_Conf.exe with the option "--system --force dep=ApplicationOptOut", but it just doesn't respond, it does nothing.

    I also edited the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\EMET\EnableUnsafeSettings registry KEY, with no avail.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2016
  17. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    301
    Location:
    Swiss
    What does command prompt return:

    wmic OS Get DataExecutionPrevention_SupportPolicy

    The command will return 0, 1, 2 or 3 which stands for
    AlwaysOff,
    AlwaysOn,
    OptIn or OptOut respectively

    2 (OptIn) is the default configuration
     
  18. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    @CHEFKOCH 2.

    I just ended a chat with a person from Microsoft and she/he couldn't get the issue fixed, and so this person told me that there's a setting on my BIOS related to BitLocker. LOL. Trust me, I know my BIOS head-to-toe and there's nothing related to BitLocker.
     
  19. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    883
    Location:
    Triassic
    My mistake. I posted on the W10 EMET thread. I should have posted on the non-W10 thread.
    However, tnx for your offer. I have since contacted an EMET developer I know and the problem has now been solved. It was my error.
     
  20. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    I gave up on EMET with Windows 10. Not only does it not work properly and I can enable DEP without it, Microsoft themselves say Windows 10 is secure to the point where EMET becomes obsolete.
     
Loading...