email secure connection

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by lurningcerv, Dec 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lurningcerv

lurningcerv Registered Member

I am connecting to my emailboxes (multiple accounts) with an email client. It's set for "TLS to dedicated port" for both incoming and outgoing, port 465 outgoing and 995 incoming. My connection logs typically show a successful TLS handshake, and then a "plain" authentication. So it looks like I'm logging in in plaintext. When I check the "require secure authentication", the connection gets denied, so I can't send/receive mail at all. This happens for all my email accounts, which are with multiple different vendors.
    I have looked at the FAQ's and other sources, and I think the settings in my email accounts are correct for ssl login, so why can't I get a secure login?

2. PaulyDefran

PaulyDefran Registered Member

I'm not an expert, though I do run an email server on WHS 2011 for personal use. It depends on what the email server has set for options. I only use Thunderbird, but can you try setting port 110/25 with the 'StartTLS' command, and encrypted password? If 25 doesn't work (sending), try 587.

You may still have an encrypted connection and are just logging in, in plain text, through the tunnel.

110/143/25 and 993/995/465 can both do encryption, one is called 'implicit' and the other 'explicit'.

It is my understanding that Implicit 'StartTLS' on 110/143/25/587, with 'Encrypted Password', is the most secure.

P

3. lurningcerv

lurningcerv Registered Member

PaulyDefran,