ekrn.exe uses 100% CPU utilization

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by clunkski, Jan 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. clunkski

    clunkski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    need help why does ekrn.exe uses 100% CPU utilization. ive just noticed yesterday and today. did a few reboots but still the same problem.

    OS is windows vista 32 bit
    eset nod 32 antivirus 3.0.621
     
  2. Kosak

    Kosak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hi!

    Which firewall do you use? Have you got last update?

    - in the future create thread about NOD in his section, please
     
  3. clunkski

    clunkski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Im using windows firewall only. after updating it seems to be fine. but i can still see ekrn.exe spiking to 100% while scanning...a little weird though. last week it was not like that. i guess they change something during the updates last week.
     
  4. techie007

    techie007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Same thing here. I've seen it go nuts a few times over the last week or so. It ssems to last for a couple minutes and then correct itself.

    Same setup as you mentioned.

    Only NOD32 installed (no ESS), auto-updates hourly, just had it happened again with 2788 that's why I cam looking here.
     
  5. _Logan

    _Logan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    I can confirm, just recently I noticed ekrn.exe using 100% of the cpu... never happened before, just started doing it once and awhile.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If it happens for a moment while downloading/copying files it's ok.
     
  7. _Logan

    _Logan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    For me, it persisted until I restarted the machine. It's also not ok, as while it does that it's not possible to do anything else on the PC as it's very slow.
     
  8. Boofo

    Boofo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I have noticed this for a while now. It seems to happen more the longer between reboots. And also when copying large files.
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    This is normal if you have advanced heuristics enabled for newly created files.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.