ekrn.exe High CPU Usage

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products Beta' started by michael83815, Dec 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    ekrn.exe is sucking the guts out of my CPU. I have Intel core duo and its runs 53% constantly.:thumbd:
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Check the last scanned file as well as the number of scanned files in the statistics window. If the same file is scanned continually, you can exclude it from scanning.
     
  3. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    Thanks, I'll Re-install and give it a try.
     
  4. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    Marco,

    Where do I check the last scanned file?
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Under Protection status -> Statistics
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have it on a laptop now for its second day and it is humming like a bird. I feel for you but Marcos will figure where the issue lies. I am totally impressed with this beta, dont mind my avatar, it changes colors like the horse in the Wizard of Oz.;)
     
  7. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    Running fine here also on XP home. The web scanner seems a lot faster.
     
  8. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    I have checked out what you said Marco and it is not stuck on a file. So I'm un-installing and going back.
     
  9. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    Macro,

    After Christmas I can Install and create a screen video of the problem if that helps at all.
     
  10. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello michael83815,

    Do you have any backup software running?

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  11. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    I don't have any scheduled backup software. But I use Paragon Drive Backup.
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Can you confirm or deny that temporarily disabling real-time protection makes a difference?
     
  13. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    It makes no difference. I have tried disabling Firewall, RealTime, Antivirus and none of them change the CPU usage.
     
  14. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    I disabled startup scan and rebooted and then went to statistics and it is still scanning files is this normal?
     
  15. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    That means the real-time protection driver is registered in the system, but the kernel may not be actually scanning files (ie. if you accessed the test file eicar.com you wouldn't be alerted by real-time protection).

    Just out of curiosity, are you having an email client open when cpu usage spikes up? Maybe a log from SysInspector from the moment when the cpu spike occurs would shed more light.
     
  16. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    here is the file: sysint.zip
     
  17. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    How do I send the files to you they are zip files.....
     
  18. dorgane

    dorgane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Posts:
    362
  19. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon
    Hello,

    1 image EAV 4.2

    2 image ESS 4.2
     

    Attached Files:

  20. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon
    ekrn.exe constantly 50% CPU usage scan animate eye to upgrade normal signatures for pre release update. Consuming 50MB RAM

    default definitions + interactive mode firewall + unchecked integrated mail, context menu, user interface elements and effects and system updates.


    Note: iThe scan is interrupted only if you restart the computer if you do not continue to do the scan tirelessly.


    Normality functionality view link: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1595617&postcount=19
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2009
  21. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    After troubleshooting, the bitlocker driver seems to be the cause after disabling it my cpu returned to normal.

    I thought Win 7 pro did not have bitlocker.
     
  22. gisuck

    gisuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Posts:
    56
    i think the enterprise version of windows 7 comes with bitlocker...

    technically all versions have the bitlocker driver, it is just not available to you to use unless you upgrade to enterprise or ultimate edition.
     
  23. gisuck

    gisuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Posts:
    56
    I have left a feedback email to the beta team about ekrn's high cpu usage on the "Start up scan" for my netbook freezing the computer for about 2 minutes. once the startup scan is completed, the netbook flies faster than when the 60 day trial of norton internet security 2009 was installed.

    i think that this could be fixed if there was some type of cpu limiting feature when scanning (system or start up) the will prevent eset from stealing all of the computers resources... while this may not be an ideal solution, it should not be of concern as the real time scanner should pick up any harmful virii that the user executes.
     
  24. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    The startup scan is run with the lowest priority, however, if you're experiencing slowdown and don't want to disable the startup scan tasks completely, try editing the task and in the last setup screen change the priority from "lowest" to "when idle".
     
  25. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    Well like I said I disabled the bitlocker service and my problem went away. I think I have bit locker because I upgraded from Vista Ultimate.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.