ekrn.exe cpu usage - 25%

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by manak, Sep 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. manak

    manak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Posts:
    78
    - ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5.2.9.1 (Database 7476)
    - Windows 7 (64bit) SP1

    I don't see memory leaks but ekrn.exe often runs at between 25-28%.
    I got this problem since yesterday. Is it related to recent virus signature database? or Windows 7 Tuesday patch?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you look at the Protection statistics in the Tools section, do you see the number of scanned files rising? If it's file system protection scanning files, try disabling real-time protection for a while and see if the cpu consumption goes down.
     
  3. manak

    manak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Posts:
    78

    I could see the number of scanned files rising but not dramatically rising just one by one. I don't open any main applications (not even web browser)
    Of course I know there are background usual services.

    ekrn.exe often runs cpu usage 25%. When I disable real-time protection CPU consumption goes down. 25% cpu usage? I don't think NOD32 work like this before (I'm not sure 100% maybe I don't notice this?). These days I only update Windows 7, Adobe Flash( I don't think this cause problem) and NOD32 virus signature database.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 01e.jpg
      01e.jpg
      File size:
      165.6 KB
      Views:
      22
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  4. BTIsaac

    BTIsaac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    46
    This is happening to me too, except it goes up to almost 100% There is absolutely no indication of Nod doing anything, neither on the tray icon, the user interface or the hardware.
     
  5. GreenWhite

    GreenWhite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    110


    Yeap, happened to me too since yesterday. 100% cpu spike for a long time.
     
  6. P_R_

    P_R_ Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hello,

    could you please provide us with SysInspector log and Processmonitor log capturing events in the system during high CPU consumption? We would need at least one or 2 minutes (of Processmonitor log) for analysis.

    You could send me a PM or just open a ticket with your local ESET support.

    Thank you.
     
  7. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    UK
    bear in mind nod32 isnt multithreaded I think so eg. on a 4 core system 25% is basically 100% with nod32 saturating all the cpu power available to it.
     
  8. manak

    manak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Posts:
    78
    No response? Great support...

    Recently I tested again. (I uninstalled Nod32 because of this issue). I don't have 25% ekrn.exe CPU(4 core processor) usage issue anymore (until now?).
    I have still no idea what caused this problem but the one thing for sure other users(some?) have same issue. I hope that their cpu spike ekrn.exe issue is addressed too.

    Windows 7 SP1 (64bit)
    ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5.2.9.1

    Virus signature database: 7556 (20121007)
    Update module: 1040 (20120313)
    Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1367 (20120921)
    Advanced heuristics module: 1134 (20120903)
    Archive support module: 1153 (20120917)
    Cleaner module: 1057 (20120626)
    Anti-Stealth support module: 1032 (20120806)
    ESET SysInspector module: 1225 (20120629)
    Translation support module: 1094 (20120928 )
    HIPS support module: 1056 (20120905)
    Internet protection module: 1047 (20121002)
    Database module: 1023 (20120917)
     
  9. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Why you so mind about the usage of ekrn?Does it slow down your computer?

     
  10. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Hello manak.

    It could be a good idea to follow the advice given by PR in post 6, that say, create a Process Monitor log, and a SysInspector log. (and send a PM to PR)
    The more data Eset receive, the greater the chance, that the problem will be solved, which in the end might benefit us all. Link ( if you need it) : How To Enable System Boot Time Logging using Process Monitor Tool

    Cheers, Janus :)
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I still haven't received a Process Monitor log so it's impossible for me to tell what's causing the cpu to spike.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.