egui.exe (6.0.316.0 ESS) freeze

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by ElQuia, Apr 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ElQuia

    ElQuia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Argentina
    Created clean profile. Win 7 x64

    Opened GUI, clicked on " Computer Scan"
    GUI freezes
    TAsk Manager, kill GUI, result:

    Description:
    A problem caused this program to stop interacting with Windows.

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: AppHangB1
    Application Name: egui.exe
    Application Version: 6.0.316.0
    Application Timestamp: 514b13e3
    Hang Signature: f916
    Hang Type: 6144
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.4
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Hang Signature 1: f91646beb6df419498c31b4698753837
    Additional Hang Signature 2: 9751
    Additional Hang Signature 3: 97512e5f5a3d7cc114aa39aad8cfcaf5
    Additional Hang Signature 4: f916
    Additional Hang Signature 5: f91646beb6df419498c31b4698753837
    Additional Hang Signature 6: 9751
    Additional Hang Signature 7: 97512e5f5a3d7cc114aa39aad8cfcaf5

    Read our privacy statement online:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
    C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
     
  2. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    Is this issue only occurring with ESS? If so, manually uninstall it using our uninstaller tool in Safe Mode and then reinstall. If the issue continues, it may be a Windows 7 issue, and running a clean boot may help.
     
  3. ElQuia

    ElQuia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Argentina
    Already did install, re install, clean install, purged registry of ALL previous AV, etc.
    It DOES NOT happen with ESS 5.xx It is a 6.xx problem. It happens ONLY in the computer scan "tab" of the gui, just by selecting the tab. If a scan is running already (of an usb drive for example) it goes on running even if the tab (gui) is frozen. Only way out: kill egui.exe process and restart it
    In the last 2 months I have tried out: ESS 5, BitDefender IS 2013, Avast IS. None has problems.

    Ask your self: what is different between the ESS 5 gui and the 6 gui that can make 6 freeze? on the same PC?... Maybe next week I will try ESS 6 on my notebook and other PC.

    You CANT pretend that any user do a full clean install of his/her OS just because of a gui bug in your program. :mad:
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    When gui freezes, please create a dump of egui.exe via right-clicking the process in the task manager and selecting "Create dump file". Compress the dump, upload it to a safe location and PM me the download link.
     
  5. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    I'll forward this onto our developers for further investigation. Which Windows OS are you running on that computer?

    You may be confusing Clean Boot with a System Restore or resetting back to factory defaults. A Clean Boot simply restarts the system with minimal set of drivers and startup programs. It's used often to help resolve software conflict issues with the system.
     
  6. ElQuia

    ElQuia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Argentina
    OK. Did this:

    Clean Boot, only non MS service enabeled was eset of course
    Gui freezes same way as with full boot
    Opened task manager and tried to do the mini dump, notice saying "Please wait while the process is written to the file" - [Cancel].
    Tried twice with a reboot in between and tried in normal (non clean mode), waited for "witing to the file, once 5 minutes (by clock) second time 8 minutes and in normal mode waited other 5 or 6 minutes. Had to cancel

    How much time is a mini dump supposed to take and to where does it write the file? :blink:

    EDIT: Phenom II X4 945, 7 GB DDR2800, 2 Sata 1 TB in RAID 0, dedicated NVidia Card 1 GB DDR3. OS Windows 7 Enterprise x64 SP1 fully updated, havn't had a BSODin more than a year, very stable system.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2013
  7. ElQuia

    ElQuia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Argentina
    AnyOneo_O Ideaso_O
    :mad:
     
  8. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    "A longshot"

    This suggestion is based from a similar problem from our gamer group. (erro AppHangB1)But do you have " HP Protect Tools" enabled, if you have, then try first to deativate it. If that does not help, then you might have to uninstall HP Protect tools, and then reboot.

    Regards, Janus
     
  9. ElQuia

    ElQuia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Argentina

    I don't have any HP tools or any hp whatever
     
  10. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Hey

    It was as I wrote, a long shot. Had just seen that particular error code, " AppHangB1" on a HP machine, so I thought... :) .This may seem like a trivial question , but do have any other security software running real time/or starting up with nod32?

    Regards, Janus
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
  11. ElQuia

    ElQuia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Argentina
    No Janus, have scan only free ware superantispyware and also free scan only malwarebytes o_O
     
  12. jumanji

    jumanji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    I suggest the following - because 6.0.316.1 is the actual version.
    Deinstall current Eset simply via Programs uninstall in windows.
    Download from Eset the full Version of the Offline-Installer:

    http://www.eset.com/download/home/detail/family/5?installer=offline#offline
    (Right click on Offline installer)
    Select you operating system and language.
    Download the file
    Execute the installer as adminsitrator.

    Sometimes it is also helping to activate in the extended settings the "testmode" under update/update with prior empty the update-cache.
    After this go to the main gui and select update and there on the right side the two update icons.

    After the update do the same again by deselecting the testmode.
    Reboot.
     
  13. ElQuia

    ElQuia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Argentina
    Offline installer is giving m 6.0.306.0 NOT *.1 (x64 english) (see attachement) I already have that. And I did a VERY meticulous clean install. In my case it is the "Computer Scan" "tab" of the gui that crashes egui.exe just by selecting it.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Hi there ElQuia

    If you still have issues with egui.exe freezes, and if it is not possible to create a dump of egui.exe as Marcos suggested in post 4, then if you want, you can create a Sysinspector log, and with references to this thread, contact your local support in Argentina.

    Regards, Janus
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.