East Smart Security Problems

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by BALTAGY, Aug 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BALTAGY

    BALTAGY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    99
    memory leak in v5 must be fixed in next version, but what about v6?!

    and what about these files problem?

    i don't restart my a lot but this problem makes me restart my pc every day

    i think memory leak in v6 same as v5, they are same modules
     
  2. tommy456

    tommy456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    137
    It doesn't accumulate that fast for me, (V5) fortunately, if it did then i wouldn't still have it on my system,
    And when support start saying that the memory leak issue is unique to me when that is not the case, just because there isn't a large number of end users reporting the same things, doesn't always mean that they don't have the same problems, they just may be unaware of them, as my pc is getting old now and only has 2gb of ram if something starts hogging that physical memory i notice it, not only by checking to see what it is withholding from the system but when playing demanding games that need a lot of memory and cpu time, they slow down when loading maps ect, because eset has locked away ram my system has to use the pagefile this has to be written to disk so takes longer
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    The dump showed that the files any.video.converter.pro.3.5.0.rar and any.dvd.converter.pro.4.5.0.rar were being downloaded. No files were being scanned but ekrn was rather waiting for further data to be downloaded. We are still investigating it but we'll need to get a kernel memory dump from such state in order to tell more about what was going on.
     
  4. BALTAGY

    BALTAGY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    99
    do you want another memory dump?
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Yes, please configure Windows to generate kernel memory dumps as per the instructions here and generate one manually by triggering BSOD.
     
  6. BALTAGY

    BALTAGY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    99
    what BSOD?!!, i don't have BSOD i just talk about memory leak and files take big space and i can't delete them
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    BSOD will be triggered when you follow the instructions to generate a kernel memory dump.
     
  8. BALTAGY

    BALTAGY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    99
    but if i restarted my computer all well gone and i must wait until it happen again

    - i must wait for more updates to see ekrn take more ram
    - i must wait to make big downloads to make these files appears

    in other way that i made with memory dump i didn't need to restart so i made it when problem happened

    now ekrn take 317MB and i have files take 2GB

    i want to take memory dump now when problem happened, is that right?
     
  9. BALTAGY

    BALTAGY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    99
    by wrong way i restarted my pc, so i tried to create memory dump as you said but i couldn't, no memory dump created or BSOD

    when i tried as instructions to show "Complete memory dump" option after that when i choose "Kernel memory dump" - "Complete memory dump" disappeared

    when i try to hold the right CTRL key and press the Scroll Lock key twice nothing happened
     
  10. BALTAGY

    BALTAGY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    99
    any updates?!!
     
  11. BALTAGY

    BALTAGY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    99
  12. get_it

    get_it Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    99
  13. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Do you have Windows 7 SP1 installed? This issue can be caused by a bug in Windows Filtering Platform that was likely addressed in SP1.
     
  14. get_it

    get_it Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    99
    Yes Marcos I have Win 7 SP1 installed on my system. Should I try installing the second of the hotfixes previously suggested in the following post?

     
  15. get_it

    get_it Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    99
    After completing several downloads .rar files using both internet explorer 9 and latest version of chrome the tmp files remain in \windows\temp directory despite closing each browser. Also as a side note several downloads reach 99% and do not finish.

    Have tried deleting the tmp files but unable to do so manually, and erkn process is showing high memory usage.

    Upon restart tmp files are deleted.

    http://i46.tinypic.com/5m083r.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
  16. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    This behavior is typical when you have Windows Update 2735855 installed. I'd suggest uninstalling it as advised here.
     
  17. Nerius

    Nerius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Lund, Sweden
    I also have mem leak in RC.
    Also have update problems, i can't update
    "Virus signature database update ended with an error - Error ectracting file.
    I get this all the time.
    I've tried clear cache.
    I have pre-release updates enabled.

    ekrn is using alot too. 1915,8mb.

    Is there a fix for this?

    I'm using Windows 8 Pro x64
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2012
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.