EaseUS Todo

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Brian K, Feb 17, 2015.

  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,699
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I've been testing the ability of various imaging apps to restore an entire drive image of a UEFI Win8.1 system to a new empty HD.

    EaseUS Todo does this successfully using the WinPE recovery disk. All 4 partitions were restored in their correct order. The Linux recovery disk failed (could find the image but couldn't do anything further).
     
  2. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    342
    Did you test the free version or the commercial version?

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,699
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I used the Trial Workstation.
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    the problems i have consistantly had with easeus and even with the latest version is when doing a restore i have seen it mess up the 4k size pretty bad. as well as having to run a chkdsk to correct issues before the system would properly boot. otherwise it does work very well but i dont trust it myself.
     
  5. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,519
    EASEUS Todo backup is weak in speed and compression.
     
  6. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    507
    Location:
    Southern California
    Funny.

    It's the best backup program I have used so far.

    Yep, I'm the weirdo.:(
     
  7. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,574
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Probably no support for Win8.1 but I'm still using EaseUS Todo Backup Advanced Server 4.5. Must be 6 years old but for me the best Win7 Pro x64.
     
  8. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    EU
    I cloned my HDD with EaseUS ToDo to transfer all to a new SSD. It worked well, but I had to run a chkdsk before booting with SSD. Then all was Ok. It was Win7, though.
     
  9. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,911
    Anyone running latest EaseUs Todo Backup 10 on Win 10?
    Please share your experience with its backup/restore, etc...
     
  10. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,911
    Attached are 2 screenshots named SCR 1 & SCR 2

    SCR 1 - "Preserve file security settings in backup" - checked by default...when I create "System Backup" plan & save it, the option is unchecked - is this coz "System Backup" dont need that option And the option is for "File Backup"?

    SCR 2 - "Exclude Files" - unchecked by default...when I create "System Backup" plan, should I keep it disabled or enable it/any entry under it?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,427
    Hi Yash Khan

    I haven't tried any Easeus stuff on Windows 10. It just wasn't reliable enough for me.
     
  12. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,911
    Peter2150,

    Can you give me info on the settings in the screenshots in my previous post?
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,427
    Unfortunately no. I gave it a quick run taking an image. Then tried a restore and it failed. It's been a few months.
     
  14. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,911
    Ok, Peter2150

    Thank You
     
  15. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,911
    Tried backup/restore with Todo Backup Workstation.

    C Partition 48GB/100GB Full, D Data Partition (Todo Backups saved on D Partition)

    Full Backup - 30 Mins
    Incremental Backup 1 - Under 20 Secs
    Incremental Backup 2 - Under 20 Secs
    Incremental Backup 3 - Under 20 Secs

    Todo Backup Pre-OS Console (WinPE)
    Restored to Incremental Backup 3 - 28 Mins

    Checked system, everything fine.
    chkdsk, sfc /scannow fine.

    Only Google Chrome settings mentioned corrupted, reset settings. Reset settings fine.
     
  16. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,911
    I am trying EaseUS Todo Workstation on Win 10 64 Pro And mentioned my first backup/restore experience in my previous posts.
    I like it, good & easy GUI, options, light, Incremental backup fast & impressive & overall good.

    I thought how EaseUS handles images if its taking backup & system is shutdown, etc...
    So when my scheduled incremental backup kicked in, I restarted the system.
    After system restart, I checked my backup folder And a new incremental was there.
    I checked the new incremental i.e "check image" & EaseUS mentioned image error/bad image.
    I checked image details from the GUI & now the bad image was not there in the image list BUT the bad image was still there in my backup folder.
    I manually started incremental backup & completed fine.

    Now I wonder what would happen if I try to restore to last incremental (previous incremental is bad in the chain & is there in my backup folder But not in image list in the GUI)?
     
  17. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,427
    It might restore, but might not be a good image. Anytime I get failed image, it's bye bye.