easeus todo backup free

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by jimb949, Apr 12, 2018.

  1. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    I was using v.10.5 and tried to restore to a backup image and got a error message but the thing is I checked the image right after I made it and it told me everything was fine. So I reinstalled windows 10 and tried again and this time it tells me not enough unallocated space on target disk even though I have 100 gb of unallocated space available. What a pain in the butt I need this image backup because I don't want to have to reinstall all my programs all over again. I thought everything was fine with my backup images and now this crap to put up with. I just don't know how to get this image to work.

    Also another wield thing is I have no recovery for windows 10. It shows I have a healthy recovery partition but if I restart my Toshiba laptop and press 0 it doesn't go into recovery mode it just loads windows 10. I had to use a windows 10 iso to recover.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    jimb949,

    What partitions did you have on the drive prior to the restore?
    What partitions do you have on the drive now?

    What type of backup image did you create? Entire Drive, System, Win10 partition?

    Is Win10 installed in UEFI or MBR/Legacy mode?
     
  3. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    C drive,Recovery, unallocated
    System backup
    UEFI mode
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Is that prior to the restore or now?

    There are not enough partitions for UEFI mode. Can you post a screenshot of Disk Management?

    A System backup could be a problem as it doesn't image all partitions.
     
  5. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    I was able to restore back to my full backup but then when I tried to restore to my Incremental backup about one week later that's when it gave me a error message. The full backup and the Incremental backup were made about one month apart from each other.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Screenshot?
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    An EaseUS ToDo System Backup doesn't backup the Microsoft Reserved partition or the Recovery partition. If you have a drive failure and try to restore that image to a new blank drive you are in big trouble. I don't think System Backups should be used at all with GPT disks. Use Entire Disk backups.

    A System Backup is OK if restoring to the same disk.
     
  8. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    I'm confused. I backup my entire computer to an external hard drive and then recover my computer from that external hard drive. So is that what you're trying to say?
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    What I meant was if you have a HD/SSD failure, you are in trouble. Your System image isn't good enough.

    I can't help you if you don't answer my posts.
     
  10. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    Here is my screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks. Can you restore your Full or Incremental image to that drive?

    Make an Entire Disk backup before trying the restore.
     
  12. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    No it tells me I don't have enough unallocated space on the target disk. But it shows I have 200 gb of unallocated space available.
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    OK. Do you have a partitioning app that lets you delete partitions from a boot disk?
     
  14. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    OK again. Make your Entire Disk backup and then boot your partitioning app and delete the Win10 and 100 MB EFI System partitions. Leave the other 2 partitions alone. The MSR and the Recovery partitions will remain.

    Boot EaseUS media and restore your incremental image to HD0. I just did this and it worked.
     
  16. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    Okay will do thank you for all your help!
     
  17. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    The partition app will not let me delete Windows 10 C drive.
     
  18. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,822
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    You cannot DELETE locked System partitions when running partition apps under a LIVE WIndows System. You must run the partitioning tool from a Recovery Media (Linux/WinPE on CD/DVD/UFD) of some sort.
     
  19. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    Thanks I'm still learning.
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Jim, which app are you using? If you are having trouble we can talk you through deleting those partitions with EaseUS.
     
  21. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    Thanks Brian, I'm using aomei partition asst. and was able to integrate to recovery environment and now I can delete those partitions you told me about. Thanks Brian and the rollback frog for all your help! Now when I get time to do it tomorrow I just hope that backup image doesn't shoot me any error messages or I'm screwed.
     
  22. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    JIm, make sure you have done an Entire Disk backup before deleting the 2 partitions. Safety.
     
  23. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    Right, I'm going to copy the entire drive over to a USB flash drive.
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I hope you mean an Entire Disk image backup. Not a Disk Copy (Clone).
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2018
  25. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    LA
    It only gives me the option to copy the disk not back it up using my aomei partition asst so do I have to use easeus todo backup to make my entire disk backup?
    Also when I delete the windows 10 c drive how do I get back to my easeus todo backup software so I can try to restore my incremental backup? Sorry but I'm new to all this.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2018
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.