EASEUS Todo Backup 2.0 Released

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by guest, Jan 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guest

    guest Guest

  2. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
  3. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    The paid version has UR:eek: , can take a look:D

    Universal restore - restore the system including files, applications and settings to new and dissimilar hardware in minutes for system migration or hardware replacement.
     
  4. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    And, snapshot thingy too!

    Bought it last night for $31.20 (after 20% discount)

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  5. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    I'm curious about the Universal Restore function.

    Will UR allow for an OEM version of- say- Windows XP to be installed without activation issues to a new computer ?
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    Probably not. WHen I was testing HIR on Shadowprotect, restoring computer A to computer B I got an activation warning on XP.

    Pete
     
  7. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Ok;
    Thanks for the info.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Pete,

    That is a good point. Many of us think we will be able to restore our image to another computer if there is a major hardware failure of the present computer. But if the OS is OEM, Microsoft will not allow an activation on the new computer. Another OS license will be needed.
     
  9. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    Have you tried the UR feature?

    How does it work?:D
     
  10. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    I am retired and have too much time. So I buy every program, install it and then never use it!

    LOL!

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  11. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    :D :D :D :D :D
     
  12. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    Oh my god... you just install and then throw it away...
    its very waste:D

    you don't need/use it, you can give me if possible:D
     
  13. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    LOL!

    I can give you the link for 20% discount?

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  14. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Could you expand on this for us? - please and thank you!
     
  15. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi Tobacco,

    The reason I bought it because the snapshot thingy wasn't in the trial version. The paid version comes without a serial and activation crap. I guess the author decide to better use his/her time to provide better product and trust his customers.

    I am still trying the snapshot thingy and I will post more on this. It earmarks minimum 2gb to maximum 30gb for snapshot area in virtual mode which is hidden from the users. It doesn't take up that space on the onset, but has available to it. The snapshots are very fast and easy. I have a 50gb system drive and it only took 1% of 30gb earmarked on the first baseline snapshot.

    The snapshot is pre-OS-menu available with the ESC key before the Windows 7 and Macrium Reflect menu.

    The imaging is very, very fast. The 50gb system drive took about 22 minutes.

    Best regards,

    KOR!

    P.S. It is worth to buy this product.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
  16. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    Thanks first!

    But I don't like to buy softwares that I couldn't try them first.:p
     
  17. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Hi KOR

    Very informative post - Thank You

    I'm sure we all would like to hear your further experience with the snapshots!
     
  18. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    Since the new version is redesigned, I wonder if it's mature as a system backup program.
     
  19. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi there,

    For home use there is a free version, give it a try. The paid version is available as trial too, but the trial version doesn't have snapshot included with it.

    Kind regards,

    KOR!
     
  20. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Can any of you Todo 2.0 (pay version) users describe its 'snapshot' functionality? Is it an 'ISR' type of snapshot, similar to that of Rollback Rx (one that backs-up a partition in a matter of seconds and restores it quickly upon a reboot)? If so, when restoring a snapshot, do you lose all subsequent snapshots? o_O

    Aaron
     
  21. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Dear Aaron Here,

    I have not done much testing. However, you unfairly compare every product to Rollback Rx. Rollback Rx is very good, when one wants to move back and forth in time, and it does it fairly quickly. However, it also has some major drawbacks.

    1. It cannot make an image, only snapshot.
    2. It has to be uninstalled for an image to be made, thus loosing all the snapshots in process.
    3. One can still keep all the snapshot but then one is forced to do sector by sector imaging.
    4. One cannot use chkdsk.
    5. One cannot defrag the drive.

    Where as EASEUS Todo Backup Workstation is first and foremost an imaging and backup program with snapshot capabilities. It co-exists with Macrium Reflect. It's menu is before the menu of Macrium and Windows at boot-time, by pressing ESC. The snapshot files are on a different partition from the system partition, and in my case on Drive_D, as hidden virtual drive. Taking snapshot is a breeze and within seconds. Though I haven't restored a snapshot yet. I believe one can defrag the drives and run chkdsk too on system partition.

    I just installed Acronis True Home 11 and activated the Media Recovery, which is F11 on boot-time. It replaced the ESC boot recovery of EASEUS but preserved the Macrium and Windows booting menu. However, after booting my snapshots are still there.

    Best regards,

    KOR!

    P.S. I am new to imaging and snapshots. And, never heard of 'ISR' type of snapshot until recently.
     
  22. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    The major strength of Rollback Rx going back and forth in time is also it's major weakness, that one has to live with every expanding hard disk.

    For example snapshots A and B are taken and then Microsoft Office Professional is installed with proofing thus taking up 2gb. Now as the time goes by snapshots C, D, E, G ....... M are taken. Now it is decided to delete the 2gb of Microsoft Office Professional.

    One now has to have a razor sharp memory, to really delete this, one has now to remember and delete snapshots C, D, E, G ....... M, all of them. If one deletes only from snapshots E, G ....... M, the 2gb of Microsoft Office Professional is still there.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  23. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Hi, that is correct. That answer is based on when the program was in the beta stages of testing.
     
  24. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    LOL! The point is moot, unless one has to ever expanding system partition (hard disk) and eventually run out of disk space and encounter system crash. And, to preserve sanity, for this reason Rollback Rx recommends making a new base line every so often and destroying all the snapshots, thus destroying the ability going back and forth in time.

    This gives an opportunity to do an image with an another program, Rollback Rx is to be removed, imaging is done, Rollback Rx is re-installed and then a new base line is created.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  25. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,I'm certainly not running out of disc space.Also I've never made a new baseline,(it's still the same as the day I installed eaz-fix).I not sure if there is a right or a wrong way to use these programs.:)
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.