Early Start Up scan

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by yongsua, Jun 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Hi,I am now more prefer earlier start up scan instead of delay start up scan.Is there anyway to get the setting for early start up scan?Thanks.
     
  2. ashishsingh1508

    ashishsingh1508 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Pune
    its not a delay start up scan.
    Start up scan starts when your processor is idle. Do you want a scan when your processor is busy doing heavy task
     
  3. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    But I am still prefer earlier start up scan.Moreover,the scan did not take much time to complete and when you leave it any longer it gives you time to be running many more applications, browsing the internet, downloading, etc. etc.
     
  4. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Do you want your PC to take forever to boot up due to the scan?
     
  5. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Doesn't need to take forever, currently with 4.2 on my system it takes 2 seconds :)
     
  6. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia

    Ya.Morever,It does not take too much resources to complete.It is just in seconds only,not even in minutes.I hope ESET will come out with an option for the start up scan.
     
  7. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    Would this apply here as follows: If in "Scheduler" the [Scan After Virus Signature Update] is Chk'd, where the Scan Used to be Immediate for about 20-30- seconds, it may Wait and THEN be Only a Few Seconds?

    I haven't noticed the Usual Scan Immediately After the Virus Sig Update Pop-up and wondered why.
     
  8. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Some files are not scanned at startup scan in v4, because they are accesed too late

    waiting for a low CPU usage state give more chances of scanning such files because more files are registered
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  9. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow

    Wish I could boot up in 2 seconds, would you sell that prototype SSD to me?
     
  10. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Lol, I don't even have an SSD, I'm on a traditional hard disk, once my windows has loaded and I'm logged in, and ESET is loaded, the eye icon in system tray which rotates when scanning or updating is only rotating for 2 seconds.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.