eamon.sys and BSOD

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by computerpower, Feb 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. computerpower

    computerpower Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    We are working with a computer that randomly outputs BSOD throughout the day. We completed a format reinstall and loaded latest drivers and latest 3.0.684 Smart Security. The BSOD occurred after running Everest Ultimate to profile the computer. Completed the debugging of the minidumps from before and after the format reinstall, and the debugging stated that "Probably caused by eamon.sys ( eamon+325d )"

    I would have included the SysInspector log for your review, but the file type zip or xml is not allowed in this forum.

    We would greatly appreciate any advice on resolving the error.

    Computerpower
     
  2. computerpower

    computerpower Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I was under the impression that this was a forum for users (beginner and advanced) of ESET products.

    If someone could respond with advice we would really appreciate it.

    Computerpower
     
  3. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    You're probably better posting the dumps here, or contacting support: support("at")eset[dot]com.
     
  4. computerpower

    computerpower Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I am not able to post the minidump file *.dmp in this forum. What is the preferred way for posting dumps in this forum?
     
  5. Bell1

    Bell1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    South Carolina
    FWIW, I've recently started getting this on two different machines. It started a couple of days ago on both machines. The only difference is I was running Beta 4 on both machines. I've since managed to get both machines rebooted and uninstalled 4 and reinstalled 3. I don't have a clue as to why it would start on two machines at almost the same time.
     
  6. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    As funkydude suggested, I would suggest contacting support("at")eset[dot]com with as much information as possible, your log files, and be sure to include a link to this thread.

    HTH

    Cheers :)
     
  7. computerpower

    computerpower Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I really appreciate your assistance and will post any relevant information that ESET can provide.

    Computerpower
     
  8. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
  9. computerpower

    computerpower Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I have already contacted ESET and sent them a SysInspector report.

    The advised that I upgrade to the latest version 4 release.

    The system has not reported the BSOD for a while now.

    I will keep a close eye on it.

    Thanks for everyone's assistance in the matter.

    Computerpower
     
  10. Cutter

    Cutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    I also had a bsod twice with the old version, formatted tonight and got a bsod with the new one, locked up when installin git, had to turn my pc off at the mains, then bsod, kinda scared to try and install ess again atm
     
  11. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Is it not possible you're just running out-of-date drivers? You should check your NIC ones especially.
     
  12. Cutter

    Cutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Nope I’m always checking my drivers are up to date, even cleared my pref and temp files, did a defrag rebooted then tried to install and it bsod, I’m going to reluctantly try again in about 20min when I’ve installed all my other programs, I always install security stuff last, maybe it was just a one off with the new version.
     
  13. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Well as suggested a little above, If it happens again you should contact support with the bsod details to try and get the problem solved.
     
  14. Cutter

    Cutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    It's working fine now, second install locked up when it says removing backup files, then I had to restart manually again, then bsod, then I formatted everything for the third time, installed everything again and works fine now at last, no idea what causes it, for some reason I know this sounds weird, but it doesn't seem to like to be installed when you click the buttons to quick or do a scan before a system reboot.
     
  15. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Just in case, please configure the OS to create complete or at least kernel memory dumps in case BSOD occurs. The dump will help us identify the cause of the problem and we'll be able to tell if ESS' drivers are somehow involved.
     
  16. computerpower

    computerpower Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for the tip on the memory dump option. I will keep a close eye on the system and keep you posted.

    Computerpower
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.