E000101F4: ... not found any hard disk drives ...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by abenn, Dec 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abenn

    abenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    A couple of weeks ago I installed the trial version of True Image 9.0, and then upgraded to a purchased version on 22nd December.

    I made a full backup of my 4 drives onto an external HDD, and a couple of days later made an incremental backup. Both sessions went okay.

    Today when I started up True Image I got an error message "E000101F4: Acronis True Image has not found any hard disk drives ...".

    All my disks are recognised by BIOS during boot-up, and they're all still accessible by other software. I presume the solution will be to re-install True Image, but should I uninstall it first, or just re-run the install program on top of the existing copy? Will my backups be recognised by a new install, or will I need to re-do them? :(

    And why should it lose the drives in the first place, including the one that it's running from o_O
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    First of all, try rebooting your computer and running TI again. If that doesn't work then uninstall TI via the Windows Control Panel Add or Remove Programs utility and reinstall. Your existing images and Secure Zone (if created) will not be affected.

    Now there is a good question but probably one of the TI drivers got its knickers in a twist. They say computers are mere logical devices but believe me they can do strange things!! :p :D

    Regards
     
  3. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    I think its likely to be disk or File sys related.

    Tsis might be helpful
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/archive/index.php/t-95650.html


    "Please also check each partition of your hard drive by Windows utility:

    - For Windows 9x please use Windows menu Start\Run
    then enter the command "scandskw" and test all drives;

    - For Windows XP please use Windows menu Start\Run, then enter the command
    "chkdsk c: /r" "chkdsk d: /r" for every partition of your hard drive.

    Please note that you will need to reboot your computer in order to scan the system partition."
     
  4. abenn

    abenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks, guys. I'll try chkdsk /r first and, if that fails, I'll uninstall and reinstall TI :(
     
  5. abenn

    abenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Ran chkdsk /r on all my HDDs -- no problems reported with my OS drive, and a couple of lost clusters on one of the others. TI still can't find any drives, so removed it and reinstalled.

    TI is running fine now. I guess I'll leave the installation software on my desktop for a while in case it decides to go belly-up again :(
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello abenn,

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Please download the latest version of Acronis drivers, install it with disabled logging and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists then enable logging by running the Acronis drivers installation package once again, reproduce the problem and collect the c:\snapapi.log file.

    Please also create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.