DVD didn't want to boot macrium rescue disk

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by The Count, Mar 5, 2017.

  1. The Count

    The Count Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    France
    The DVD won't boot the Macirum Reflect rescue disk (PE10).
    The error message I get is:
    EF dvd/cdrom (PLDS dvd-rw) boot failed

    The UEFI boot order is dvd/cdrom first.
    Macrium ver 6.3 free version.
    PE 10 rescue disk
    First time doing this.
    Don't have access to other machines to test.
    I have usb options but haven't tried it.
    windows 8.1
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2017
  2. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,387
    If Secure Boot is enabled, try with it disabled.
     
  3. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,626
    Why disable secure boot? PE 10 x64 should have no problem booting under secure boot. Only thing is to make sure the boot media under UEFI option.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,933
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    The Count,

    Forget the Boot Order and use the "BIOS" Boot Menu. You should see two entries for your DVD drive. Choose the UEFI DVD entry if you are using UEFI mode booting. Otherwise the non UEFI entry if using MBR booting.
     
  5. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,626
    True
     
  6. The Count

    The Count Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    France
    I don't see my DVD-RW in BIOS anymore. I tried enable/disabling secure boot, and a few other variables and reverting to legacy and reverting to default factory BIOS setting.The optical drive is visible in Device Manager and Disk Management, and I can eject and close it.

    I need to see DVD-RW in BIOS so I can boot from it, how can I do that? Drivers are updated, and I tried uninstalling drivers and reinstalling through Device Manager. BIOS has been updated.

    OS is accessible and working fine though.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,933
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Can you list all the items present in the BIOS Boot Menu?
     
  8. The Count

    The Count Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    France
    I noticed that that BIOS freezes for a some time, and I have to wait ages after moving the arrows for selecting something.
    Other times, I also get this error in BIOS when I select something:
    Question value mismatch with option value!
    Re-Enter Password

    Sometimes the above error shows up, other times it doesn't, when it does I'm forced to press the power off button to escape it's snare.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,933
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks but that's not the BIOS Boot Menu. If you can't see a button called Boot Menu in the BIOS try booting with F8, F9, F12 or Esc to get a Boot Menu. Try this instead of F2 or Del.

    I think it is F9.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2017
  10. The Count

    The Count Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    France
    What would you call it?
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,933
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  12. The Count

    The Count Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    France
    Using your suggestions I found it, it says:
    Boot Manager
    Windows Boot Manager
    EFI Network 0 for IPv4
    EFI Network 0 for IPv6
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,933
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    OK. Put the Macrium CD in the tray and get into the Boot Menu again. Does it have a CD entry now? If not, try Boot Manager.
     
  14. The Count

    The Count Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    France
    Yes, it does have a CD entry now. Problem solved. Thanks Brian.
    Do I always need to have a CD in there for the CD entry to show up in Boot menu?
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,933
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I think so.
     
  16. Khzyvfonhes

    Khzyvfonhes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Texas
    Enter BIOS
    Enable Legacy support
    disable secure boot. F10 (Save, then exit), then a restart. press whatever "F" key it takes to get your computers boot menu BEFORE it gets to the O/S (Use your Google-Fu to figure this one out).
    Choose your optical drive, or if using USB, USB drive.
    Disk will boot, restore your image.

    IMPORTANT!!

    After computer restarts, interrupt it, go into BIOS, turn secure boot back on, enable UEFI.

    Do this BEFORE computer boots to the O/S.

    Good luck.
     
  17. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,945
    A USB keyboard is pita with a computer that has a PS/2 port. Its not possible to get in the BIOS because USB is active after boot.

    You need a PS/2 keyboard to get in because PS/2 is up before boot.
     
Loading...