DVD Backup issues

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by boabie, May 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. boabie

    boabie Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hi

    This is my very first backup with TI.

    I've had a wee problem where I tried to make a full image of my computer and burn right to dvd as described in the manual. I got a whole bunch of errors which I'm guessing relate to my old-ish dvd-rw burning on to the new-ish media. Unfortunatly there are no firmware updates for my drive.

    I'd just like someone to confirm this for me. I saved and attached the log file. As you can see it all went pear shaped just before verification and it was unable to verify.

    So unable to do that my next attempt is going to be saving the tib image file to my hard drive and make a bootable TI iso and save it in the same location. I am then going to inject the tib image in to the bootable ISO created by TI using MagicISO. Do you think this will work and be bootable all from the one dvd?

    Don't hold back I work in IT so I'll hopefully know what your talking about ;)

    Thanks for replies


    EDIT: I'm pretty sure its my drive and media combo as I tried burning my MagicISO image with IMGBurn and got similar results. I'm gonna send the image to my other machine over the network with a confirmed working burner.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 28, 2007
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    There's an entire thread about doing just that - creating your own bootable DVD to include the backup image. It's one of the biggest threads, you can't miss it.
     
  3. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
  4. Thiggy

    Thiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Posts:
    82
    Maybe one day... in this lifetime... Acronis will create a seamless DVD backup process within their software. The one where you have to leave the drawer open in order for the software to close the drawer is just crazy. Any new user would never have a clue about the quirk. o_O
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello boabie,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    First of all, please make sure you use the latest build (4942) of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    Please also have a look at this FAQ article to find out the supported times of DVD discs.

    If the issue still persists with the latest build, please create cdrecord.log file the way described in this previous post of mine. In addition, please create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also let us know if you can create an image to DVD disc with "Validate backup archive upon operation completion" unchecked in Tools -> Options -> Default Backup Options.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    In this lifetime? You must be an optimist. :D :D

    I would settle for having the Restore/Recovery process call for the dvd discs in the order in which they were created instead of the constant swapping in and out of the same disk more that once, twice and even thrice.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.