During backup error, What does Ignore/Ignore all do?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by nelsonm, Sep 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Hi,

    I have ATI Home v9.0 Build(3,677).

    During a backup, Acronis paused with an error message indicating that it could not read some sectors and presented the options to "retry/ignore/ignore all/cancel". Acronis help F1 does not include info on what "ignore/ignore all" does. I could not find anything on the Acronis web site either.

    Does "Ignore/Ignore all" ignore the problem and copy the sectors anyway or does it skip the bad sectors?

    My client is using Microsoft's RMS retail system on the server. The vendor who installed it configured it to write and store its SQL and other data on the system drive. I would have never done that but thats the way it is.

    I want to be able to backup the whole drive including bad sectors before i perform a "CHKDISK /p /r" from the Microsoft's Recovery console.

    I also understand that when i restore the system drive, I have to first create a system partition backup that I will restore with the partition size resized in order to avoid transferring bad sectors back to the drive.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    regards,
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Any reason you do not want to do the chkdsk /r before trying the backup? Many users here actually do the chkdsk /r before doing a backup - it usually makes for a backup that will restore successfully.
     
  3. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    No other reason than i don't trust Microsoft utilities. In the past, everyone always said not to allow Microsoft utilities to fix or repair anything.

    I reason that i would rather have a "raw" backup image of the drive as it is - bad sectors and all - just in case "chkdisk" makes things worse.

    Anyway, does "Ignore/Ignore all" response to the error popup window ignore the problem and copies the bad sectors anyway or does it skip the bad sectors during a backup with sector errors?

    If not, then i would need to do a "raw" sector by sector backup image. If i can figure out how to do that.

    regards,
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2007
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    When it comes to Acronis, I'm not sure that their interpretation of "ignore all" would be the same as mine. I would much rather run chkdsk /r, which is one of the oldest dos commands. And in fact I have used it quite a few times. I've never read where it messed up someone's system. It will move any files residing on bad sectors to good sectors and isolate the bad sectors.
     
  5. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Well... Ok.

    I'll give chkdisk a shot.

    But i would still like an answer to the "ignore/ignore all" question from the Acronis guys!
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    C'mon Mudcrab, Seekforever, Jmk and all the other regulars ... back me up on this. :D :D
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    nelsonm & DwnNdrty,

    You're correct that there does not seem to be anything much written about this. Also, there seems to be no mention of the option in the manual.

    I have imaged before by ignoring read errors. My best understanding is that TI "skips" the bad sector (or sectors) and continues. The image should still validate and restore, however any data in the sectors not read will be "corrupt" since it wasn't stored in the image. The sector may or may not be marked as bad.

    In your particular situation, I would recommend that you create an image before you run chkdsk /r and choose to ignore the read errors. If that image validates okay, then run chkdsk /r on the drive and let it fix any bad sectors. Then create a new image of the drive.

    If you are restoring to a new drive and you're are keeping the current drive (the one with read errors) in its current state, then you can just try restoring the first image (the one with read errors ignored) to the new drive and see if it works okay.

    Perphaps Acronis Support will post and state exactly what is being saved or not saved. One would assume that since the option to ignore is present that the image created would be valid. Just so you understand that those sectors are bad and will not be saved either way. Chkdsk will mark them bad or TI will ignore them.

    You might also check out the first post in this thread: Restoring Image - Bad Sectors an Issue?
     
  8. zardiw

    zardiw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    I have a HD that has gone ti..s up. Attempted to get an image from it using Acronis 7.1. I guess I'm behind the 8 ball, but I haven't updated to 10 because 7.1 is doing all I need......until now that is.

    Anyway, after running SpinRite on this drive I found out I have serious problems about 60% in..........btw, that's about where it writes most of the directory on NTSF files isn't it?

    SO, SpinRite really couldn't fix the problem ...slowed to a crawl with DynaStat, and got Sectors not found errors, etc etc etc.

    Anyway, had the bright idea to pull an image of it using Acronis.

    WELL, hit ignore/all on the errors question, and it started running. This is a WD 150G Raptor, and after about 10 hours or so, when it had 5 hours to go, Acronis stopped.........well the progress bar stopped moving anyway. I let it sit for another 2 hours or so, and when the progress bar didn't move I killed it.

    I was told by a tech rep that it would keep going when it found problems, but apparently it doesn't.......at least v7.1 doesn't.

    SO, my question is if I upgrade to v10, will that be able pull an image off this SICK disk..............lol..........Thanks all, and Acronis RULES.........I hope it rules in this case anyway.

    Btw, GetDataBack running off a FreeDos boot disk gets hung up also. This is a SATA drive, and while trying a BartPE boot, it didn't recognize the SATA controller, only the IDE ones. I'm getting a SATA to IDE converter to see if Capt Nemo, or some other program can access the data, but don't know if it will work or not.
    W2K will not boot while this drive is connected btw.

    SpinRite reads fine all the way up to 60%. I narrowed the bad area to between 60-65%, with a little bad spot at 72-73%.

    I can see the directory listing using GetDataBack, but when I try to go deeper it hangs.

    Just thinking that with only this small area of the disk bad, that most of the data should be able to be pulled off, but don't know much about NTFS file structure, etc. Maye the whole directory tree is in that section, who knows?....

    If anybody has any other suggestions, I'd really appreciate it...........z
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    zardiw,

    You could always try the Trial Version of TI 10 and see if it can create a successful image.

    Another option to try and copy data off would be to boot from a Live Linux CD (like Knoppix) and mount the drive (if it will recognize it). If it did, then you could copy the good data to another drive or a network share.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.