Duplicate Virus Software

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Bluey, Sep 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bluey

    Bluey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Central West N.S.W.
    With my current virus software (Avast) I would like to run ESET
    (alternatively ?) also so as to achieve perhaps a greater coverage .

    Is it possible to run one and turn off the other and thus avoid conflicts.

    I have read:
    1. Never run two virus' and in conflict
    2. Running another virus will pick up what the other doesn't.

    Experiences would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Bluey
     
  2. Kayracc

    Kayracc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    96
    Don't run 2 at the same time, it won't help any

    that being said, you can run 1, and have another 'backup' or "on demand" scanner to just scan single files, however you'd need to select only what you needed when you were installing the software, no guard, no mail, no anything, so theres no services and what not running

    i can't give you specifics as every piece of software is different, but

    -Brian
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Why not just run Eset's online scanner now and then?
     
  4. krypton_harsh

    krypton_harsh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    84
    A better option

    its ok to run two good avs, just as i am
    NOD32 and Kaspersky

    but to there is a work around here,

    only 1 AVS can run in realtime mode

    so install kaspersky and only use the scanning engine ( disable realtime protection)

    and then install nod32 with all features on

    gr8 protection from nod32 for almost all,

    generic detection of mostly Usb pen drive spreading virus like Autoit.xx variants are handled by kaspersky by scanning them

    works gr8 for me.....
     
  5. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    As krypton_harsh posted, its OK to have 2 AVs, but only have 1 monitoring your system, if you have 2 monitoring your system they will conflict with each other.
     
  6. krypton_harsh

    krypton_harsh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    84
    May be that conflict will be so harsh, that u;r system may become unusable
    like it may come to desktop at the point of loading AVSs from Startup it may just hang blank

    and be careful to choose which AVS u keep for Realtime and which AVS only to Scan
     
  7. hex_614

    hex_614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    ive tried using avg and avira on both machines. it just works fine.

    but sometimes my computer slows., try to use bit defender free edition for on demand scanning. it does not provide realtime protection.

    or you can use your favorite anti virus plus a behavior blocker like TF or norton antibot.
     
  8. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    My sisters laptop was running horribly slow. Ends up due to her having both an expired copy of Norton AV on it as well as Avg 7.5. The combination was not good.

    If you are really concerned about specific files you may be downloading, a great resource is Virustotal.com. You can submit files any they scan it with most antivirus engines. While I have just scanned yet another variant of Antivirus 2009 and nothing detected it - if something is classified as a virus this is the most likely place to let you know.

    If you are looking at a full system scan;

    http://msn.mcafee.com/root/mfs/scan.asp
    http://www.pandasecurity.com/activescan/index/
    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
    http://safety.live.com/site/en-US/default.htm
    http://ca.com/securityadvisor/virusinfo/scan.aspx
    http://security.symantec.com/default.asp?productid=symhome&langid=ie&venid=sym

    There are others. If I'm thinking a system is infected but am having trouble knowing, one step is to run all of those above.
     
  9. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    There is little to be gained from running multiple black listing software like AVs. If you really would like to have multiple engines, try products that actually have multiple engines built in like Trustport or AVK.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.