Dual Boot?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by deadlegs, May 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deadlegs

    deadlegs Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I have a clone of a C drive from on ecomputer which is loaded a a primary partition onanother computer. I want OS selector to find it so that I can boot from it or my regular c drive. However OS selector is not recognising it as a bootable partition. Can anyone help please?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello deadlegs,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    Could you please provide us with some additional information?

    - Let us know the build number of the product you use, which you can find in the Help -> About dialog (it should be a 3 or 4 digit number);

    - Could you please tell me what operating systems you use (the one installed on your computer and the one you "clone")?

    - What product/procedure you used to clone the system from one computer to another?

    - Are you able to boot to the "cloned" operating system without Acronis OS Selector?

    Would also like to mention that an attempt to transfer Windows operating system to a computer with different hardware (for example, a motherboard or use another processor version) will usually produce the same unbootable result because the new hardware is incompatible with the most critical drivers included in the original system. Please have a look at my reply in this thread <different hardware> for more details.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Is it a version of Windows? (XP?)
    If Windows saw the cloned drive before you removed it from the other computer, then it's probably not bootable.

    Aside from the hardware issues, to make it work try using DD to make sure the partition is marked "primary" and "active". If it still won't boot, set the drive first in the BIOS boot order (or remove or disconnect the other drive) and run XP repair to get it bootable again.

    If you do finally get OSS to detect the OS, don't forget to set the drive order so that the drive you're booting is "first" in the list. As far as I know, XP won't boot from the second drive. Also, it's generally a good idea to hide the primary OS partitions from each other so they don't get crossed up.
     
  4. deadlegs

    deadlegs Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,
    I think you have answered my questions with the thread rteference. However, I cloned the image using Noton Systemworks 4 (effectively produces a copy of the drive rather than an image of it). Then used my acronis product to copy the cloned drive held in External HDD to my PC's internal HDD.

    Both systems are running Winows XP Pro but the hardware is different.

    If I were to run a Windows repair install would this correct the issues about which you refer?
    Thanks for your input.

    Regards,
    deadlegs
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Once you get the "new" drive to boot properly (not necessarily all the way into Windows), you will most likely have to run XP's repair option to fix the hardware differences. Sometimes changes in hardware will be detected and changed automatically, but if there are specific drivers installed or unknown devices for which drivers aren't installed then a repair is needed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.