Dual boot & TI

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by DerekBaker, Sep 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DerekBaker

    DerekBaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    My dual boot got hosed when I restored the XP partition (the other held Vista) - image created with v8, restored with v11 (trial) rescue media. Could boot to XP fine, but Vista was unreachable.

    From what I've read v11 would work as long as I image the whole disc rather than one or other of the partitions; that correct?

    Thanks.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Is Vista booting from the XP partition and using Vista's boot manager?

    Do you get an error when you try to boot Vista?
     
  3. DerekBaker

    DerekBaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Problem was boot loader menu was not displayed: booted straight to XP. I've reinstalled Vista now, so it's fine.

    I'm more interested in moving forward to an imaging solution that works for the dual boot.
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    If you use the bootable Rescue CD it will backup and restore an XP/Vista dual boot system just fine. I've used the BartPE flavor of True Image ver 9 to do just that.
     
  5. DerekBaker

    DerekBaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Just did a test.

    Imaged the whole disc in Windows with v8. Restored it with v11 (trial) rescue media.

    Boot loader appeared; WinXP was fine; Vista threw a bunch of errors and couldn't log me onto my account.

    Some mistake of mine or do I need a later version than 8 to create the image?

    Thanks.

    EDIT: Drive letter in Vista was wrong. It was D, rather than C.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2008
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The Vista partition may have moved or something else caused the letter reassignments.

    If you repeat the test, this time imaging the restored drive, do you still have the problem?

    If you image the drive with TI 11 and restore with TI 11, do you have the problem?
     
  7. DerekBaker

    DerekBaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    'Restored drive'? You mean the current screwup? Why would I want to image that?

    Going to reinstall Vista, and then image and restore with the v11 trial. Any particular options I should use?

    Thanks.
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The reason is that if the booting problem is associated with the partition moving, doing another restore will put the partition back into the same place. In other words, if you always start with an image that results in the partition being moved, then you will always get the problem (assuming that "moving" is the problem).

    I would do an Entire Disk Image backup (check the Disk # checkbox). Leave other settings at default unless you want to validate the image automatically after the backup is complete.

    Once you have the Entire Disk Image, you should be able to restore that as an Entire Disk Image and have it work properly. You should also be able to test restoring the individual partitions to make sure that works.
     
  9. DerekBaker

    DerekBaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Does it matter if it's launched from within XP or Vista?

    Thanks.
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I don't think it should make a difference.
     
  11. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Try a Vista repair first ... you'll need the installation DVD. Right after the window to choose the language, you'll see the Repair.
     
  12. DerekBaker

    DerekBaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Too late: done the reinstall.

    Taken the image and verified it.

    What options for the restore? Looking at:

    Restore disks or partitions
    Disk including MBR and Track 0
    Select Disk
    Delete partitions
    Use default options

    Thanks
     
  13. DerekBaker

    DerekBaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Well I don't know why the other versions didn't work, but the Beta of TI2009 worked fine.

    Looks like v12 can't come soon enough for me.

    Thanks for the replies.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.