Dual Boot Different Distros

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Krusty, Jan 23, 2020.

  1. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    4,075
    Location:
    Canada
    Editing the /etc/default/grub menu as explained in the link provided by @shmu26 is very easy to do and has never failed for me.
     
  2. Gringo95

    Gringo95 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    216
    I’d agree with that in addition to my post above regarding boot repair discs. Both these items can cause a lot of grief.

    Another option without risking your main system and considering the small cost involved is to stuff a cheap 120 SSD into an external case and install into that just making sure you select the correct location for your Grub. This varies between distros and whether the host system is BIOS or UEFI so be sure to research info for an external drive installation for whichever Linux you intend to run this way.
     
  3. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,550
    @Krusty Linux Mint comes with Timeshift installed by default, if I remember right. Do you use it? You can painlessly reset Grub, and have Mint as the default OS once again, by running a Timeshift restore job in Mint. Just make sure you have an up-to-date backup, and you are good to go. It will not touch your second OS.
     
  4. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    2,402
    I know I am the odd guy out here. I like to avoid the confusion by moving my startup files (/boot) to USBs for each OS that I run. For my simple mind it avoids the confusion and any "crossover contamination" concerns. So using e.g. two linux systems I would have two partitions with two USB sticks and for me its all clean and simple. Easy as hell to do forensic backups that are specific to each system. KISS for where I am on this.
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've got a clean install of Kubuntu in a dual-boot with Mint (for) now but for some reason I can't disable Blutooth from starting at boot. I can disable it but next boot it's back.

    Any ideas appreciated.
     
  6. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,550
    Did you disable it in "Autostart"? If not, enter the word "Autostart" into the search bar, open that window, and untick it over there.
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Screenshot_20200221_171033.png

    Screenshot_20200221_171602.png
     
  8. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,550
    My bad.
    On the panel, there is a little arrow next to the clock. Right-click. Choose "Configure System tray". Untick bluetooth there.

    By the way, there is a very easy way to make Mint your default OS again, if that's what you want. Just boot into Mint, open a terminal, and run
    Code:
    sudo grub-install
    If you later decide to make Kubuntu your default, do the same thing after booting into Kubuntu.
    When grub is reinstalled, it always makes the current OS to be the default one.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    You champion! That did the trick.
    Is it really that easy?
     
  10. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,550
    It's not only easy, it's fast, too. It is a no-brainer. You will be asked for your user password, that's all the input that will be required of you.
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thank you so much. This is all very helpful information. :thumb:

    Cheers,
    Dave
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    ... Even if the machine is UEFI?
     
  13. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,550
    I do it on UEFI, without issues.
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Well, I did that after booting into Mint, but now I'm not given a choice which OS to boot into, it just boots straight into Mint.
     
  15. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,550
    Easily fixed:
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    This is another no-brainer, but it takes a few seconds to finish running.
    I will be offline for 24 hours or so, I am sure others can tell you whatever you need to know...
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    With the very much appreciated help from @Brian K I now have Solus Gnome installed in a dual boot with Win10 on another machine. So that's Mint + Kubuntu on one machine and Solus + Win10 on a second machine. My third machine shall stay with Win10 only, for now. :D

    Thanks everyone for your help and support. :thumb:
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,646
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    @Brian K is a star, has also been very helpful to me in the past. :thumb:
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    My word, Paul. There's no way I'd have been able to get this far without his help.
     
  19. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,550
    @Krusty Did "sudo update-grub" sort things out for you?
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I'm not a patient person. I restored a back I created with Macrium Reflect rescue media. Yes that works :). Later I reinstalled Kubuntu.

    I think I'll leave the boot order alone as it's not really that much of a problem to pick an OS to boot into.

    Thanks for the tips though.
     
  21. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,550
    Glad to hear you sorted things out your own way. If Macrium Reflect has your back, you can afford to take risks and learn by good old trial-and-error.
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Well, I looks like I have Solus Plasma installed, not Gnome. :oops:
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    My first Windows update requiring a system restart went great on my two dual boot machines. Happy about that. :)
     
  24. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,550
    It's usually the big feature updates, like the one scheduled for this spring, that are more obnoxious for multibooters.
     
  25. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,268
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I can work around that on my UEFI desktop PC as I can put Windows first in the BIOS but I'll have to see what happens (after a backup) on my MBR laptop.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.