DrWeb support - is anybody home?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bellgamin, Jul 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Unity

    Unity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Toulouse ~ France
    I thought the web shield was still in beta stage ? o_O
     
  2. Serge Popov

    Serge Popov AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    41
    Yes, its still in beta stage. However, I believe what latest Dr.Web scanner builds know about Dr.Web Shield and can use it. If there is a shield's driver file, it gets loaded and its API is used instead of plain Win32 API to cure or kill malware.

    And no, its not drwebscd.exe or spidernt.exe but drwcore.sys and drwshield.sys drivers.
     
  3. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,177
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Possibly off topic: Will Virus Chaser also get this technology?

    This is a good method to kill malware. :)
     
  4. Serge Popov

    Serge Popov AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    41
    I dont know. After all, its not released yet.
     
  5. Unity

    Unity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Toulouse ~ France
    I know that all the developpers hate that kind of question :ninja: but ...Do you have any idea about a release date ?
    I really enjoy Dr Web so far and i know that i would probably enjoy it more with that component :D
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Reply here;

     
  7. Unity

    Unity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Toulouse ~ France
    Thanks Blackcat , that's what i was looking for ;)
     
  8. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,647
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    This seems to be the appropriate thread to vent my frustration regarding Dr Web support. I have been having a problem with Dr Web; it seems as though it has been making all of my system icons enlarge when I apply any theme from either WindowBlinds or StyleXP. Any icon from within any program is effected. I have contacted support. We went back and forth and finally they told me that there was nothing they could do about it, after two weeks or so. I let them know that if this is the case I would need a refund for Dr Web as i cannot use it and need to look elsewhere for protection. This problem made my system unuseable. I have not heard anything back after that. It has been five days.

    I am very unhappy at Dr Web support and can no longer recommend it to anyone who comes in to my shop. I cannot recomend something that they might have problem with, as I have. Dr Web support seems useless.
     
  9. Serge Popov

    Serge Popov AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    41
    Its really sad. We'd like to make life better, not worse. But its software, a very complicated stuff. Some bugs are extremely hard to reproduce and track down, some are quite specific to a custom configuration. I believe what support folks tried really hard to understand the problem and provide a solution. I've never heard about such a problem, they probably either.
     
  10. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,794
    Location:
    Hawaii
    It could be that WB & StyleXP are competing for some area of DrWeb's turf. I cannot duplicate your problem because I don't use those apps. All I know is this -- if it came down to a *contest* between WB/StyleXP & the good doctor -- for me, DrWeb is the winner by a country mile.

    However, your mileage may vary so I hope you get your $$$ back.
     
  11. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,647
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Well, I like Dr Web and have been using them on one machine or another for four years. I very much like WB also. My plan is, if I get a refund, to get NOD. I just wanted to start a little fire under my request so maybe it will be honored. I'll let you know...

    Here's to v5.
     
  12. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,875
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Just for reference. I have Drweb and Windowblinds 5 and I can not reproduce this problem. They work fine together on my system. But speaking about support; How do a non russian speaking person sign in to their forum? When I visit I can se the english posts, but all the menus and stuff are in russian so there is no way to see how to register or write a comment. Even if I click on the english flag there is still russian language in the menus.
     
  13. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,647
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Just send them an email at support@drweb.com. Your email will be the first message in your support ticket. The ticket number if then emailed to you.
     
  14. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I would ditch WindowBlinds/Style XP before Dr Web!
    A little harsh considering the following post;
    First with VBA32 and now Dr Web. You seem to jump ship at the first sign of any problems?
     
  15. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,647
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Well I am very picky. But I have more than one machine that these AVs are on. So it's not as if they are dirched completely; they are just changing in preference ranking. Also, my lisence for VBA32 will soon be over whereas I have a 2 years lisence for Dr Web. So it comes down to finances. Remember, I'm a poor college student.

    I still haven't been able to fix the context menu problem I mentioned at the VBA32 forum.
     
  16. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    No software program exists that runs troublefree on 100% of all computers.
    It will simply never happen.
     
  17. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    98031
    Off topic:
    did you send in the debug files?
    Also remember they are GMT+1, effectively 10 hours ahead of you. So they are seeing everything "a day behind"
     
  18. Siarheika

    Siarheika AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Posts:
    24
    This context menu problem you encountered seems to be very rare and we can't reproduce it yet, so we need your help as mentioned in VBA32 forum and pointed by likuidkewl. Thanks in advance for cooperation.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.