Drweb Default Settings.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Badcompany, Nov 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hello Forum,
    Why doe's drweb have Riskware and Hacktools set to ignore, by default.
    Badcompany.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Because they are not considered malware.
     
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    But if you look carefully at his screenshot , you'll notice that they are both right under "Malware" so Dr.Web considers them malware (malicius software) .

    ESET considers such tools as potentually unsafe applications . A user must manually enabled detection/removal of such tools because of their double usage . I think it is the same with Dr.Web - as a user it is up-to-you to activate action against such tools
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    same with kaspersky "riskware" detection is off by default.
    users may use some applications that are concidered riskware. most companies uses some form of remote access program which would be concidered riskware.
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    This may also be because some such PUA, riskware, etc sometimes try to sue the av companies for labeling their products as malicious. So the av company lets the user decide. At least that is my take on it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2008
  6. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Oepss
     
  7. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Similar behaviour with several programs.
     
  8. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Same with fprot, report possible unwanted apps is unticked by default
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.