Drop Avira and just use MBAM?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by kewljerk, Jul 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kewljerk

    kewljerk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Posts:
    11
    Love my AVIRA, but just looking down
    the road just a bit...
     
  2. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    you may be fairly well without both but it would be better to have both as they are not the same thing and do not offer the same level of protection
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    The MBAM people wouldn't recommend it. If you doubt me just ask them.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2012
  4. Amin

    Amin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    UK
    besides, mbam has no firewall , at least avira offers you one !

    my suggestion : Avira IS ( real time protection ) + MBAM ( on-demand )

    Amin..
     
  5. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    If you're not keen to spend money on Antivirus software, go for a free alternative to Avira and keep MBAM in real-time mode. Most AV-vendors are good enough catching worms, viruses and other peskies, but only MBAM is really good at catching rouges and other non-traditional malware. If you are willing to extend your license with Avira, go for that and keep going with Avira + MBAM. They are both excellent protection.
     
  6. SnowFlakes

    SnowFlakes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Posts:
    194
    don't make the mistake to drop avira.
    avira is one of the best AV's out there.. my advice keep avira and keep it up-to-date
     
  7. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Keep both. :)
     
  8. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Agree, it's a light setup that should be effective.
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ditch them both and get sandboxie and free firewall of your choosing (Private, comodo, Online armor)
     
  10. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,633
    Location:
    UK
    Interestingly, Marcin only uses MBAM on its own as confirmed in this post.
     
  11. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    And he is an average user ? :rolleyes:
     
  12. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,633
    Location:
    UK
    Some of us were wondering earlier this year what setup he uses. He made a comment in his own blog:
    The post I quoted was after some of us tried to ascertain a bit more info from him as it was thought he must have some other means to protect himself.
     
  13. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Nevertheless his company doesn't recommend others do as he does. It doesn't take much digging to find this out. http://helpdesk.malwarebytes.org/entries/20818081-does-malwarebytes-replace-antivirus-software
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2012
  14. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Understandably, he's promoting his product :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.