DriveSentry and Spyware Terminator

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by rOadToIS, Dec 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    I'm not sure if I need to delete Spyware Terminator since I have DS.
    I wonder if DS can be a great antispyware.
    What should I do?
     
  2. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Keep em both, DS is not and never will be a dedicated AS, anythingh else but an AS will never be optimal against SW unless your virtualizing/sandboxing w/e

    btw u use the Av and HIPS parts as well of ST?
     
  3. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    I only use real time shield and scanning parts of ST since Comodo D+ is a great HIPS. I decided not to use DS due to my slow cpu. I'm just going to keep ST. Frankly, I think I'm still in a good shape without DS.
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well, i wouldnt use spyware terminator, it isnt all that great, drivesentry is a better choice over it.
     
  5. Makav3l1

    Makav3l1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    241
    They are different types of software and it should be fine to use them together.
     
  6. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    that might be true, but drivesentry still covers all the sensitive areas of your computer, while ST, although saying its a HIPS, is one of the weakest ive ever seen and its detection isnt all that great either + there Clam AV is a joke. Last time i used ST it was resource heavy as well. so i just never liked ST.
     
  7. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    By the way, I'm just using scanning and real time shield parts of ST. For my cpu, ST is using very little resources.
     
  8. Makav3l1

    Makav3l1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    241
    Agreed.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.