Driver Radar Pro v1.5 (Freeware)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by novirusthanks, Apr 28, 2014.

  1. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Italy
    http://s10.postimg.org/83ebb91fb/driver_radar_pro1.png

    I uploaded a new beta version of Driver Radar Pro v1.5:
    http://downloads.novirusthanks.org/files/DrvRadarPro_Setup2.exe

    These are the changes:

    Feel free to report here feedbacks about its usage and if you find any issue.
     
  2. TS4H

    TS4H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    Looks interesting, never realized you have so many tools available after properly exploring your product catalogue. Any vision to include some into ExeRadar Pro to enhance its capabilities or is there no need? Secondly, does Driver Radar offer any extra protection when used in conjuction with ERP or is it more of an ondemand verification tool?

    Ragards.
     
  3. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,137
    Location:
    USA
    Is this needed if erp is already installed?
     
  4. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Italy
    @TS4H

    We will discuss what and if to add new things to ERP very soon.

    Driver Radar Pro is a real-time monitoring application that automatically blocks the loading of unknown kernel-mode drivers, useful to block rootkits.
    It can be used in conjunction with ERP, as it monitors a different area.

    @Overkill

    It can be useful to block kernel-mode drivers, it uses only 16 MB of memory (service + gui).
    Lets say you allow an executable file with ERP, and it then tries to load a kernel-mode driver (safe or unsafe), it is automatically blocked by Driver Radar Pro, if it is not whitelisted.
    There is no alert dialog, Driver Radar Pro blocks by default the loading of any non-whitelisted kernel-mode driver.
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    Looking through my archive of previous downloads of NVT products, I have a found that I have the portable version of Drive Radar v1.3.10.

    Is there a new portable version of this current beta?

    I have found a link which is current for a portable version - hxxp://downloads.novirusthanks.org/files/portables/DrvRadarPro-Portable.zip, that appears from the digital signature, was released on April 22 2014. It is for version 1.4.

    P.S. When I go to the webpage for Driver Radar, the various tabs for Screenshots, Details, Changelog do not work in Opera v12.15 Build 1748
     
  6. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\mbamswissarmy.sys got blocked .

    Whitelisted it now but surely a lot of people use it and so I was surprised to see it blocked.
     
  7. Pliskin

    Pliskin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    Works for me, you probably have extension problem.
     
  8. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Italy
    @Tarnak

    Since we have added support for LUA and FUS (using a service), we plan to remove the portable version.

    I'll check the tabs with Opera to see why they not works.

    @trott3r

    Yes, that is normal, the program does not have a pre-built list of safe kernel-mode drivers that can be loaded.

    Maybe we can add it, what do you think ?
     
  9. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    Perhaps, not!

    See my recent post in Wilders Polls section, regarding a similar problem, here, and reply to it, here
     
  10. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    I still am using XP, and I run as Admin. LUA is not applicable, to me. I don't know what FUS means, but I would prefer to use a portable version, but if not, them's the breaks.
     
  11. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Italy
    @Tarnak

    We use Bootstrap as main framework in the website, can you confirm me that you had JavaScript enabled in Opera ?
     
  12. Pliskin

    Pliskin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    I've just tested privazer site and it works, it even works on Opera 10, so ...
     
  13. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    If I disable Ad Muncher before I go to the relevant page, then I can get the Tabs to work. Strange!
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    Yes.
     
  15. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Yes that would be a good idea to add in the common ones.

    Wouldnt the start with windows option cause problems if there was not any prebuilt whitelisting?
    Could give a negative impression of the product before they started using it.
     
  16. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Italy
    @Tarnak

    We use few CDNs (Content Delivery Networks), such as:
    //netdna.bootstrapcdn.com/bootstrap/3.0.3/css/bootstrap.min.css
    //cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.10.0/jquery.min.js
    //netdna.bootstrapcdn.com/bootstrap/3.0.3/js/bootstrap.min.js
    //cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/html5shiv/3.7/html5shiv.min.js
    //cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/respond.js/1.1.0/respond.min.js

    I suspect that Ad Muncher blocks them somehow and the tabs then are not working, just a guess anyway.
     
  17. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    No biggie...I can work around it. ;)
     
  18. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Italy
    @trott3r

    By default all legit and safe system-protected kernel-mode drivers are allowed.

    Problem would be for other security software because their kernel-mode drivers would be blocked at least initially until the user whitelists them.

    I will create a list of common kernel-mode drivers installed by other security software so they will be auto-whitelisted after Driver Radar Pro is first installed.
     
  19. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    OK that would be a good idea
     
  20. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,137
    Location:
    USA

    It uses alot more ram than erp
     
  21. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Another suggestion if i may.

    In manage whitelist an added driver gets stored as the hash name which means nothing to regular users like me.
    The name of the driver would be a better option.
     
  22. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah looks interesting and effective. I'll give it a try.:)
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    this tool may block some nasty rootkits in real time
     
  24. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Italy
    I uploaded a new build that can be downloaded from here:
    http://downloads.novirusthanks.org/files/DrvRadarPro_Setup2.exe

    Uninstall the old version (removing the settings) and install this new version, a reboot is not needed.

    Here is what's new:

    + Save also the file name and path when a driver is whitelisted
    + The whitelist window can now be maximized
    + Quickly configure the application with Configuration Wizard

    In the configuration wizard, if you select "Recommended settings", it will scan the folder C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\ and whitelist all .sys files founds.

    So this way all the other security software installed can successfully load their kernel-mode drivers.

    Let me know how it works and if you have other suggestions.
     
  25. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Good to see software other than ExeRadar also in development.
    Are you still developing Anti-Rootkit?
    And is there a blog or something alerting to updates (preferably with changelogs) for your softwares?
     
Loading...