Driver Disconnected While Associating

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by philby, Jan 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello

    Vista desktop (Dell Inspiron 530) running alongside two laptops in small home network.

    Cannot say exactly when it started, but on both cold boot and restart the network is taking about 4 minutes to get itself straight which, apart from being a royal pain, importantly means that ESS fails to update.

    Event manager always shows the same error as per thread title.

    Have tried the following:

    • Un/re-installing ESS - problem persists regardless, so rules out ekrn.exe strangling the network.
    • Updating bios and broadcom network adaptor drivers - no change
    • Resetting router (Netgear DG834GT) and updating firmware - no change
    • Rolling back to oldest image I've got (Macrium) - no change
    • Running various network related command fixes (resetting TCP/IP) as suggested in other forums - no change

    Neither laptop replicates this - both connect (local + internet) in seconds, like the Dell used to.

    Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

    philby
     
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  3. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Kind of you to post those - I have, as you probably anticipated, been there already...

    Spent all morning tinkering around, but unfortunately still none the wiser.

    Thanks very much though.

    philby
     
  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2009
  5. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Connectivity has always been fine (2 years). The box has always settled in around a minute.

    The router is compatible, therefore, and OpenDNS / assigned local ips have always worked. I get no drop outs once the connection is established.

    Incidentally, boot time is now much longer - around 30 scrolls instead of about 6 and then there's a further 2 minute delay while internet connectivity is established.

    The conflict/failure must surely be in the box, rather than the router, as the other wirelessly linked machines are very snappy on start up.

    Autoruns shows nothing suspicious loading and I only have ESS running at boot.

    This pm, I rolled back then un/reinstalled the Broadcom driver again but
    still no change.

    I am clueless.

    Thanks for your help.

    philby
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,270
    Location:
    England
  7. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Thanks for that.

    I have indeed already been there and tried switching from g only to b&g. No change.

    It's like starting the car and not being able to drive for 5 minutes.

    ESS not updating is a little more important though.

    philby
     
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Have you started to suspect something at the hardware level .... a connector or the card itself?
     
  9. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,556
    Have these problems started about 2 weeks ago? I have a lot of these problems lately on my windows XP SP3 and I'm starting to suspect the recent security update of microsoft.
    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin/ms09-jan.mspx

    Strangely the disconnections/reconnections happen with a much higher frequency when I have outpost installed.

    Panagiotis
     
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Yeah, I surely wouldn't doubt an update in the spokes.
     
  11. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    I think around a month - hard to say as I don't normally reboot. It's my wife's "production machine" and she tends to be looking elsewhere when starting up...

    Two laptops (vista sp1 / xp sp3) have no connection issues at all. All three machines are fully patched.

    Your issue may well be Outpost related as I'm not running it and only have this issue on boot.

    Thanks for posting

    philby
     
  12. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hardware is a mystery to me.

    If it was the Broadcom adaptor, wouldn't I be having disrupted or no connectivity rather than just a long delay while the adaptor driver associates?

    Once the connection is finally made, it is trouble free - local and internet with no drop outs at all.

    philby
     
  13. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  14. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Thanks for staying on the case - I hadn't found that one :thumb:

    I have, however, tried many of the changes suggested there but to no avail.

    What I don't understand is how doing things like disabling IPv6 , link layer topologies etc. should be necessary when connectivity has been trouble free for literally years.

    Why should changing to channel 12 help? Things have run smoothly on 6 from initial set up in 2006.

    The issue is the driver not associating only initially - it does eventually.

    I think the problem would probably be easier to solve if I simply couldn't connect at all.

    philby
     
  15. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Would you kindly spec the current driver please, thanks.
     
  16. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Version 4.170.25.17 dated 12/10/2007

    (I pulled it from Dell support as I couldn't figure out the Broadcom website!)

    Problem is there whether I roll forward or back...

    philby
     
  17. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    One other thing there Philby, the item - Broadcom 4321AG 802.11a/b/g/draft-n Wi-Fi Adapter?
    Problem is there whether I roll fore or aft ... sounds like something needs to be re-initialized?
     
  18. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    All I know is it's a Broadcom 802.11g - can't seem to get anything more from device managaer under advanced or details.

    Quite posiibly - but what ... and how?

    Tiresome.

    philby
     
  19. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,270
    Location:
    England
    Does the same thing happen if you use safe mode with networking?
     
  20. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Stapp

    I just booted in safe mode + networking.

    Speedier start up but the network icon settled as the "double monitor" showing local only (no globe and the red X for internet in the network and sharing centre map). Strange, as the internet was connected and worked fine. (??)

    Regarding the long lag for a connection though, this didn't happen.

    Does Vista load drivers differently in s/m?

    I did think there may be a driver failing to load, so I ran a bootlog that shows the following drivers are not being loaded:

    Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\NDProxy.SYS
    Did not load driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\kbdhid.sys
    Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\DRIVERS\srv.sys
    Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\NDProxy.SYS
    Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\NDProxy.SYS
    (well did the above one load or not?)
    Did not load driver kbdhid.SYS
    Did not load driver Wanarpv6.SYS

    There are others that don't load, mainly from intel and logitech, but that's because I've disabled a lot of start up items - like the intel wired adaptor...

    I don't know if there's anything significant here?

    philby
     
  21. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Seeing how Stapp may have fractured the proverbial pinyatta, it sorta sounds like somebody's running interference. Load Order can show you both views with one shortcoming: it doesn't capture the "image path," meaning, you'll be obliged to print out a screen-shot or two for comparisons sake, run merely as a second opinion alongside bootlog. This isn't to say I don't have my doubt's when it comes to the Vista, Broadcom union ....

    *Ah, in addition I see there's also DriverView which claims to confirm loaded drivers. Supposedly OK on Vista.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 29, 2009
  22. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Thanks all for your input.

    I think this one's beyond me - will probably just leave machine on full time from now on.

    philby
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.