Drive Snapshot

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by RSpanky, Apr 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    How can I use BartPE to build a recovery disc using Drive Snapshot
     
  2. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
  3. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    I have the paid version, but i can't find the plugin folder in Snapshot folder?
     
  4. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    I believe you just need to find your "pebuilder3110a" directory. You should see a folder called "plugin" in that directory and a folder called "snapshot" in the plugin folder.

    There's a file called snaphot.exe in the snapshot folder but it's a trial version. Purportedly, you simply replace that file with your licensed version.
     
  5. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    I am very new at this, so where can i find the pebuilder3110a directory
     
  6. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Well, it's probably in your "C" drive (C:\) *if* you installed the software. If you haven't done so, then you need to download and install first.

    http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/#start

    After that, you should see the following:

    C:\pebuilder3110a

    That directory has several sub-directories, one of which is called "plugin". Expand that and you'll see "snapshot" (into which you would copy the licensed version of snapshot.exe).
     
  7. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Downloaded got licensed version of snapshot.exe in plug in folder. I know you think that I am stupid but now how do you burn the recovery CD. It does'nt seem to be working right I'm running Vista home Premium SP1
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  8. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    After If you already has directories within your PE directory that tells me that you have already used the builder, inserting your Windows CD, asserting any custom directories, etc., and that initial building process has already completed. Is that the case? If it is then you have also already created a bootable .iso file. You might have built the iso file of you might not have, depending on what settings you specified in the builder. Is any of this sounding familiar? If not lets start from the beginning.

    1. Download the Ultimate Boot CD for Windows (here)
    2. Locate that file and execute it.
    3. Extract the contents on that .exe file to your hard disk
    4. There will be a file called UBCD4WinBuilder.exe within that folder, execute it.
    5. You will see a screen that looks this
    1.png

    6. Insert your Windows disc, the location of which is your "source."
    7. Add any custom directories you with. (If you want a directory called "stuff" to be in %drive%\Stuff then all the contents of that folder need to be in "Stuff" \ "Stuff" are your hard disk.
    8. Label the disc
    9. Set output as an iso, being sure to remember the output location
    10. Then click "Build."
    11. Then use your burning software to build a disc from the iso. DO NOT simply drag the file into a data disc session. That will not work. If you are unsure what to do here, I recommend you use IMGBurn

    Don't worry about plugins right now, just get the basic bootable media working. After the initial creation process you can alter the output directory with any files and/or folders you want. At this point I would add Drive Snapshot and any images you want to the disc, keeping within the limitation of your burner's capacity. After altering any directories or adding any files use the autobuild.bat file in the root extraction directory to create the bootable iso, which will be in the same place you set it up to be.

    After that you're good to go.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  9. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,632
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Nice tutorial indeed.

    DriveSnapshot is the Living End for me. Never once failed, foiled, or let me down with some crazy error or issue. A very well made imager/restorer without all the fluff and gobs of supporting files that just make problems for users.

    EASTER
     
  10. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Agreed. There are many reasons why I chose DS over the others out there, primarily the small file size, portability, command line support, image creation speed, and image compression.. For those that have not tried it I highly suggest you do.
     
  11. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Ditto your DS sentiments - small, fast and totelly reliable... Someday, Tom will wise-up and include a Linux/WinPE Recovery CD and then DS will really rule! :cool:
     
  12. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    I'm not sure if I got my recovery CD imaged or not? When I used BartPE builder everything seemed to go OK. Now when I open up my snapshot folder I have the help file in there is this right? I am really not sure how to test the recovery CD. I think maybe I did something wrong, because of help file in my snapshot folder and thats the only file there is. Do you think that need to uninstall and reinstall Drive Snapshot. If someone could please tell how to test my recovery CD I would really be gratful, because if i done it wrong. I'm going to try n8chavez' s method Thanks for all the posts RSpanky
     
  13. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    The easiest way to test the recovery disc is to boot with, making sure you have altered your bios to allow for it to boot from the cd drive first.
     
  14. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Nobody like that hangs around here very long, lots of good folks to help no matter what your knowledge level.:thumb:
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,632
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Indeed!

    Therein lies the remaining missing link in this POWERHOUSE of such a small but extremely faultless imaging app, and i don't mention that without any hesitation whatsoever.

    So TOM, please offer us recovery CD. LoL

    This app is saved my toast when nothing else could or would and the crazy part is with such ease like no problem at all. Instant return to normal again! Fully intact!

    EASTER
     
  16. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Sorry I have'nt been able to reply, But how do alter your BIOS I am a noob when comes this. I am going to like this app when I figure it out. I have Paragon Drive Baqckup on my desktop and I wish I would have gone with Drive Snapshot on it as well Thanks RSpanky
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2009
  17. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    First of all I'm sorry to imply that I am stupid, I'm 56 years old so I am far from being stupid. I just did'nt type what I was trying to say. I have gotten a lot of help here at Wilders Forum. I'm just kind of new when it comes to computers just trying to learn, Thanks
     
  18. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    When you first turn on your computer, depending on what brand it is, there is usually a particular key you should hit (example, on my Dells, it is F2) BEFORE the Windows logo comes up that gets you into "SETUP" or BIOS.

    Then in those screens, there should be one that has to do with boot order or boot device order. It is there, again depending on brand and age of computer, where you may have to change the options to make sure your computer looks at the CD/DVD drive to see if there's a disc to boot from.

    Your machine MAY already be set up for this BUT you may have to watch closely for a message that says "press any key to boot from CD...", and quickly press any key, because that message may only show for 1 or 2 seconds.
     
  19. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    OK Thank You I have a Toshiba Laptop I will restart and see if I can see it Thanks
     
  20. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Thanks crofttk I am able to boot from me recovery cd Thank You so much. And I also thank n8chavez that got it started thanks everyone. I know I will have more questions so all the help will be gratful. Thanks RSpanky
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2009
  21. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Great! Glad it worked out.:cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.