Drive Copy 10 Personal se

Discussion in 'Other Paragon Disk Utilities' started by peak4, Dec 3, 2013.

  1. peak4

    peak4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    england
    Hope this is the correct forum for this product

    My query is as follows;

    I'm currently running a single boot XP SP3 desktop system, with a partitioned 1TB RAID-1 two disk array (this is mirrored rather than striped). This needs nVidia drivers to be seen by XP as it's a software RAID.

    I'd like to end up with a dual boot XP/Win7 system; I have a spare partition on the RAID array which I have ready for use, but was wondering about adding a 240Gig SSD, partitioned in half and migrating the XP partition from the RAID-1 array onto it first using a copy of "Drive Copy 10 Personal se" which I already have installed (from Giveaway of the Day some time ago).

    I could then add WIN7 to the second SSD partition.

    Does anyone know how Drive Copy will cope with this please? I wouldn't want the migrated XP (now on SSD) to fail to see all my data, which would of course still be resident on other partitions on the RAID-1 array.

    The reason for doing it this was would be to get the operating system off the RAID array as it seems quite difficult to restore after a major system crash.
    I have a long thread on the Avast forum about that one :oops:


    P.S. I would happily invest in a later version id that will definitely do the trick.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013
  2. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    Yes Drive copy has the ability to deal with dual boot systems.
     
  3. peak4

    peak4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    england
    Thanks Matt, but how about the RAID 1 aspect? Will the re-located copy of XP recognise the other partitions on the software RAID-1 disk that it used to be on?

    Also is the process reversible if the re-located XP doesn't load the RAID drivers and thus recognise the RAID array?
    I presume the drivers are referred to in the MBR as they must load before XP in order for it to see the array.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2013
Loading...