Dreamweaver CS3 and SmartSecurity

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by tinicum, Oct 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tinicum

tinicum Registered Member

Hi - new here - I read previous posts on this and am still unable to establish FTP connections on Dreamweaver with Smart Security.

I have Interacitve Mode set (on the personal Firewall) - and under Rules I have listed Adobe Dreamweaver CS3. Have set the Remote Info to Passive FTP on the site def. in Dreamweaver. Still something is a mess!

Dreamweaver log files say I am "technically" connected - however, nothing will display for the remote side - and if I click a button (any button!) - Dreamweaver hangs.

I'm also very new to ESET products and the CS3 ver. of Dreamweaver.
    I must be missing something really really obvious. Any help gratefully appreciated!

2. ASpace

ASpace Guest

Can you see an Adobe application with connection established/listening in ESS's Protection Status -> Personal firewall (ESS must be in Advanced mode).

Can you post a screenshot from the rules you have created for the program .

Note that it might also be a Dreamweaver issue , as notet by some posters here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=211830&highlight=Adobe Dreamweaver

3. tinicum

tinicum Registered Member

Hi HighTech-boy,

Many thanks for trying to help me out!

Yes - in advanced mode I can see that it is listening in - then - the connection gets dropped. (By the way - no problem with connections using FTP access "directly" with something like WS_FTP). At the same time as Smart Security sees my connection - my FTP log in Dreamweaver does show that I am connected, in theory - just nothing displaying.

Note then comes up in Dreamweaver to toggle Passive FTP (it is already set ON). ESET then either drops the connection or stops listening - as it's no longer there.

Never done a screen shot - hope it's OK. It should be attached.