Dr. Web v.4.33 problems

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Benvan45, Oct 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    As mentioned before, I still have terrible trouble with deleting and copying or moving large files, for example: 25Mb or larger. When sending to the recycle bin, it takes ages before it is deleted and CPU usage goes up to 100%. Same when copying or moving these files from one folder to another.

    When disabling Spiderguard, everything is ok. I already unchecked "Scan running programs and modules" and everything seemed to run better, till I ran in to this.

    Has nobody else noticed this problem?

    I have mailed support about this and had to send the spidernt.log in order to investigate this problem. I'm about to renew my licence, but if this is not solved within 2 weeks or so, I'll be looking for another AV program.

    Please react if anyone knows how to maybe solve this by a different configuration. I'm using XP Pro.

    ;) Putin
     
  2. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    What type of files are you moving/deleting? What are the Spider Guard settings?
    If you have Spider Guard set to scan all files you might help this situation by using the default setting of scan by format.
     
  3. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    These are .exe files and I've set Spider Guard at default: scan by format.

    I have a feeling Dr. Web is unpacking the .exe file and than scanning. I have looked up the spidernt.log and it takes more than 3 to 4 minutes to either delete or move or copy such a file.

    I just wonder if anyone else has noticed this!!!!

    This is the only proble I have with this version, otherwise it runs like silk!

    ;) Putin
     
  4. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    25 meg exe files, Wow! And they are not in a zip or other archive format, right?
     
  5. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I have noticed this problem. I also notice that after running for a while things just seem to slow down. Program starts are a bit slower. My scan times are slow taking over 30 minutes to scan my home setup. All in all a potentially nice update that needs some adjusting by the DrWEB folks... :rolleyes:
     
  6. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    No.....just plain exe files. For example: a large 2006 setup file from a large AV company, that's not liked by most users here!!!!! :D

    ;) Putin
     
  7. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    Maybe I'm just a lucky special customer of DrWeb, because I've had the old good doctor since version 4.27 and I have no problems at all like you just mentioned.

    I have just deleted a 36 Megs Ahead Nero NVE ".exe" file to recycle bin, at first my CPU usage was about 5 %, during the deleting it jumped to 82 % and stayed there about 5 seconds, after that the CPU usage was about 10 %.

    My SpIDer Guard settings are "smart", "Disable enhanced protection mode", "Enable heuristic analysis" and "scan all files".

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  8. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    I copied/moved and deleted a large (almost 47 meg) exe file without any problems. Here is a Spider Guard screenshot immediately after deleting the file.
     

    Attached Files:

    • drw.JPG
      drw.JPG
      File size:
      42.7 KB
      Views:
      389
  9. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Thanks for reacting and my settings are exactly the same.......that's why I don't understand.

    ;) Putin
     
  10. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    Maybe I'm just lucky! I'm pretty sure that there is somekind of difficulties with the new DrWeb engine concerning files like these, but I'm pretty sure that there will be a new version 4.33a/b within a couple of weeks because this engine is totally different than those before and there have been fixes within a couple of weeks before, in 4.29..4.30 versions, if I remember right.

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  11. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Hardware and software combinations will be unique to each computer. Therefore some users will report incompatibilities while others will not.

    However, there does seem to be a number of problems reported both here and on the Dr Web forums to suggest that this new version has some minor bugs. I have very high CPU usage at times which makes my machine unusable. Moreover, I have installed this version on about 10 different machines, all XP Pro, and all have shown this fault. I have never seen this behaviour before with any previous version of Dr Web.

    IMO, this new version was not fully tested in its beta state before release. Look at the time that Kaspersky are spending on their KAV/KIS 2006 betas. There is no comparison.

    If I remember correctly, similar teething problems were reported with Dr Web v4.31 which were quickly resolved by the release of another version. So I am hoping that this will happen again in this case.

    But at the present time, Dr Web have not helped themselves in not acknowledging that some people are having problems. I still have had no reply to 4 emails sent in the last week and forum questions on the same points have still not been answered.

    Granted that they are a very small company compared to other AV vendors but support is very important to increase/maintain your customer base.

    Presently, I am a little disappointed at present as I thought that their patchy support had finally turned the corner this year.
     
  12. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Thanks Blackcat for your reply and it is really too bad, they don't react at all for now. Let's indeed hope for a quick solution.

    ;) Putin
     
  13. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Hereby two Spider Guard screenshots. This one is after copying exe file

    drweb copying.jpg


    Putin
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2005
  14. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556

    This Spider Guard screenshot is after deleting the exe file.

    drweb deleting.jpg

    As you can see, it almost took 3 minutes.

    ;) Putin

    This copying and deleting was done on my son's computer, with different hardware etc., but same configuration. XP Pro.
    I find it very frustrating. Thought indeed about hardware conflict or something, like Blackcat said, but on other computer still the same.
    Hope something comes up very soon to fix this.

    ;) Putin
     
  15. TAG97

    TAG97 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    616
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    Putin, I noticed one little differance in your answers to Shorty and Firefighter.

    To Shorty: These are .exe files and I've set Spider Guard at default:* scan by format.*

    To Firefighter: Firefighter says-"My SpIDer Guard settings are "smart", "Disable enhanced protection mode", "Enable heuristic analysis" and "*scan all files*".
    Putin answers:"Thanks for reacting and my settings are exactly the same.......that's why I don't understand."

    Have you tried both Scan by Format and Scan all files with same results ?

    I also noticed that Blackcat's problems are on XP Pro. Are Shorty, and Firefighter also using XP Pro?
    Let's hope DrWeb solves this problem as well as they are dealing with the False Positives.
    Best Regards
    Tim
     
  16. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    Because we are dealing with exe files I don't think that changing the Scan all files to scan by format would change anything because, obviously, exe files are going to be scanned in either mode.
    As Blackcat said, everyones hardware/software setup is different.
    When something like this happens you have to first eliminate the obvious and see if something in the settings is causing the problem. I think it is safe to say we have done that and it is pretty much down to the fact that there is a bug and/or a hardware software conflict on Putin's machine. Unless there is some other software runing in real time that might be causing the conflict I think we are down to waiting/hoping that Dr Web identifies the problem and fixes it.
    Oh, yeah, using XP Pro here as well.
     
  17. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    All of the machines that I have seen that show these problems are only running Dr Web and a firewall in the system tray and the firewalls range from the Windows firewall to LookNStop and other commercial FW's.

    I have just installed Dr Web on this desktop running XP Home and I have seen the same high CPU usage. So at the present time I cannot see any common factor on any of the machines apart from Dr Web!
     
  18. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    As I told before, my SpIDer Guard settings were scan "smart" and "all files" but my system is WinXP Home Finnish version. Maybe because Russia is our neighbour, that's why I don't have any problems either. :D

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  19. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    I was more refering to Putin's situation and the problem with large exe file.
    I realize you are also having problems as well and forgive me for not being more up on it, but I was under the impression (probably wrongly) that the high CPU usage you were seeing was a broader general usage situation rather than specific to just moving or deleting large exe files, for example. That and the fact that every computer you have tried has shown the same behavior only further deepens the mystery.
    As for programs running in realtime I have BOClean and Look n stop so go figure.
    I think later on today I will try out this new version on my laptop and see if I see any issues with the high CPU usage.
    Regards,
    shorty
     
  20. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Ihave tried both settings: "scan by format" and "scan all files" and there's no difference.

    ;) Putin
     
  21. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    There's nothing running realtime, apart from Dr. Web. No firewall or anything.
    As stated before, when I disable Spider Guard, all problems are gone. As soon as I activate Spider Guard.......problem is back.!
    For me it's clear, that Dr. Web is causing this terrible slowdown when moving/copying/deleting large exe files.
    The only thing I don't understand is that Shorty is not having this crazy delay when deleting a very large exe file.
    I have tried on my son's computer with all different hardware etc. and also XP Pro, and the slowdown is the same as on my computer.
    I've uninstalled Dr. Web and did the same with the exe files and nothing weird happened, no slowdowns at all. Installed other AV's (Nod32, AVG Pro) and everything raced through......copying, moving, deleting......no problem at all.
    So, for the time being all be using another AV, till something works out with Dr. Web.

    Good luck all! ;) Putin
     
  22. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    As stated previously, I do not see the high CPU usage all the time.

    But when I try to access the SpiderGuard system tray menu or try to change ANY of the SpiderGuard Settings/Control and then select OKAY, then I see the high CPU spikes. In particular, the system tray spike freezes my machine for about 30-90s. During this time I cannot accomplish anything on the machines.

    So I can use this AV as long as I stay with the default setup and do not want to alter any settings. Therefore, at the present time I have a minor, but annoying fault.
    I cannot use BOClean because of the high CPU spikes it generates on this machine. Go figure that one!!!
    Keep us posted.
     
  23. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Same here about CPU spikes when changing Spider Guard settings/control......100% for a few seconds.
    But when frigging around with my exe files......CPU is 100% till deleting/moving/copying is finished and mostly it takes about 3 minutes, so.....just imagine.

    Putin
     
  24. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    The fact that shorty, Firefighter and bellgamin have not seen your problem or mine simply confirms that our hardware/software mix is different to theirs. No one is disputing your problems, putin. The problem lies at Dr Web's end and not yours.
    If you are not happy with ANY AV then your decision is a natural one. I have switched to Command AV on this computer until they hopefully solve the minor glitches/bugs.
     
  25. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    I forgot to mention that I have added some limits to my drweb32.ini file, to [SpIDerGuardNT] section I added "MaxFileSizeToExtract = 25000
    MaxFileSizeToScan = 40000".

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.