Dr. Web Security Space

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by 1000db, Feb 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    I've been trying out DrWeb SS for a while now on a couple different machines and so far I'm very impressed. The URL filter works very very and is accurate as far as I can tell. It seems to detect threats faster/earlier in the download process than many other products I've tried. Yes the on demand scan is horribly slow but if you know your machine is clean then then this is irrelevant anyway since there is effective on-access protection. Too bad they won't let a credible and respected third party testing organization give exposure to their quality product.

    However, i have a question hopefully some one here more experienced with Dr. Web can answer:
    Why does Dr Web run 2 instances of dwengine.exe with only one using any resources?

    I've looked and found some outdated information regarding this issue but have not been pleased with the info I've found. Can anyone answer this question or share any relevant info/experiences regarding this product?
     
  2. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    I asked this once and was told the (much) smaller process was self defense, you cant kill the main with stopping the second one (if that makes sense)
    Reference the can speed, it's much quicker than it used to be, it used to take 8 hours to scan my three 500 gig drives, it did it in 90 minutes last time I checked.
    I always used to do a full scan after it was installed and never again.
    Dr Web does find many virus before the other crowd, they have some examples of this on their site.
    I know they pulled out of most of the comparison tests, but I think this has not done them any favours.
    I also find the latest version a bit heavy, and it doesn't remove very cleanly even with the removal tool, I can never get the quantine file out!
    It's also very good at cleaning virus in my limited experience.
     
  3. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    They do tout their self-defense ability against malware. Do you still use Drweb on any machines?
     
  4. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    I ran it for a week after the new scan engine was released. The pc is used for gaming mainly and I have license for ss pro. with firewall. with all the processess running, I had a little slowdown.
    See my other thread...
    I also had problems with windows reporting it was not shut down properly!

    It is a very capable anti virus.
    If you on line game, I always change the update scedule to twice a day as the update and following re scan always caused a little lag.
     
  5. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    I do some online gaming...good to know, thanks.
     
  6. SergM

    SergM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    Saint-Petersburg Russia
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012
  7. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    224
    I am running Security Space 7.0 on a Lenovo computer using Windows 7 32-bit. It has been very good so far, no major problems at all. The full scan takes about 80 minutes, no biggie really. Much faster than the 7 to 8 hours previously. The brief scan takes about 15 minutes.

    There was a firewall issue when the conversion was first made from 6.0 to 7.0, and it was nagging for awhile but finally got resolved. It was slowing down or stopping connection to the Internet. But all this time, other than that glitch, I have experienced no slowdowns or other problems with the operation of the computer. Oh, the firewall also does not seem to like Spotify. You get a lot of popups with this program.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012
  8. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    The update doesn't cause slowdowns if "scan running programs and modules" is disabled. Otherwise the real time monitor will scan active processes after every update, which causes the lag/slowdowns during gaming.
     
  9. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    You need to select "create new rule" and "allow all network connections" for a process when the firewall popup appears. It should'nt ask again.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.