Dr.Web issue?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Metal425, Mar 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Metal425

    Metal425 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Southern California
    I just ran a Dr.Web Cureit scan and before the scan completed it said that it detected a virus during the scan and it recommended me to finish the whole scan, but it stopped the scan. It then opened a window that wanted me to download the 30 day free trial of their full AV.

    What is this about? How can I cure it without downloading their full AV trial?
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    What made you think you needed to run CureIt in the first place?
     
  3. Metal425

    Metal425 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Southern California

    Honestly, no real reason. Just visited some sketchy websites and wanted to try it out.
     
  4. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    You don't need to buy anything to cure your files. You can click "no" to the balloon. It doesn't "stop" the scan, but runs express scan by default when you start up and it probably completed. If infected files are detected, it will ask you to run full scan. You can select differenct actions to detected files from "Scan" tab.
     
  5. Metal425

    Metal425 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Southern California
    No, you are misunderstanding. It 100% stops the scan, and this window is displayed.

    http://img20.imageshack.us/i/drwebissue.png/
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I have just run drweb cure it on both my computers running windows 7 64bit and as soon as the quick scan starts it crashes and displays the same message you show in your screenshot.
    I have run drweb cure it on my computers tons of times in the past and havent had issues before.
    I guess we need to wait until drweb fixes the problem. in the mean time you could run a scan with hitman pro
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2011
  7. SergM

    SergM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    Saint-Petersburg Russia
  8. Metal425

    Metal425 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Southern California
    I restarted my computer and ran the scan in safe mode. Worked fine in Safe Mode. Now I can run the scan in the normal Windows state fine. Could it have been just a simple glitch or was some Malware screwing with it?
     
  9. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    Were you running the scans in "Advanced Protection Mode"? This mode is supposed to defend Dr.Web Cureit from malware attacks.

    Did you find any malware?
     
  10. Metal425

    Metal425 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Southern California
    I tried it both times when I was still having the crash and still had the crash in both modes. I found no Malware when I scanned in Safe Mode, but yet when it was crashing it said it found Malware within the first minute of the scan.
     
  11. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    For some additional opinions I would do a scan with one or more of the following bootable Rescue CD's:

    AVIRA Rescue System
    Dr.Web LiveCD
    Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10

    A bootable Rescue CD contains a Linux Operating System and an Antivirus program. When you boot the Rescue CD the Linux Operating System is loaded into the PC's memory. You then scan and clean the infected hard drive(s). Windows based Malware is unable to block or in any way hinder the scan and clean process. Also Rootkits are typically easier for an Antivirus program to see and clean when Windows is not operating.

    The Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10 need to have a connection to the web so that the malware signatures can be updated prior to running the scan.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.