Dr.Web Icons

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Badcompany, Mar 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hello Forum,
    Will the disappearance of drweb icons in the system tray be fixed in version 5.
    Badcompany.
     
  2. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    You mean spiderui.exe just stops?
     
  3. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hi risl,
    From time to time the icons disappear from the system tray, sometimes its the mail guard then the schedule icon.With me, this has been going on for years.
    Badcompany.
     
  4. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
  5. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    Strange, first time I hear about a problem like this with drw. Best way to let them know about this is to submit all the info here: http://bugs.drweb.com .. Just remember to be very precise and informative about your system, all other running programs and so on. :)
     
  6. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    I thought this problem was common knowledge.
    Badcompany.
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i think he means the 'hide when inactive' defaults.
     
  8. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    I have it set to ( Always Show.)
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    It seems that DRW's self-protection causes its icon to be quite sneaky & covert.

    Try --- right click Start button>Properties>TaskBar Tab>Customize
    then
    notice that DRW's icon has no title. You can set it to "Always show" & the icon will reside in the System Tray for a while. However, the little green spider will soon hide itself again, and "Always Show" will automatically be changed (by the phantom) to "Hide when inactive."

    When DRW's icon is hidden, you can see it by clicking the << symbol on the System Tray. Doing so will show you that the spider is still there but hiding.

    A VERY sneaky little spider -- with a deadly bite.:argh:
     
  10. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    it will not set your choice,

    drweb have it set to hide when inactive.
     
  11. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
  12. egghead

    egghead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I don't know what you all are talking about.

    My spidermail and spiderguard icons are in the taskbar from day one I have used the Doctor and they don't disappear (and I won't let them :D )

    This probably has to do with the rules I have made with another Russian star, SSM, that protect them from being terminated. :cool:
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2008
  13. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ah well, you can lead a horse to water, but...
    :gack:
     
  14. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    They will disappear egghead, whether
    you have Ssm running or not.

    The modules are not terminated, the icon will just hide when inactive for a certain amount of time.

    Its coded into drweb, as this is their choice. (which still should be changed)
     
  15. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Is it one of the Dr.Webs myths, isn't it? link ;)
     
  16. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    its not a myth, its a fact.

    but its also not a bug, because its drwebs preference.

    personally, i see no drweb icons by my own preference, so i dont give a damn anyway (although i have sympathy, because it did used to matter to me when i used it)
     
  17. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I know Chris, i was just joking ;)

    Anyway, i wouldn't even bother with this Dr.Webs behavior too if i were using this AV :)
     
  18. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    I hope this changes with version 5, if there will ever be a version 5.
     
  19. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I'm not clear on this. Does DrWeb just ignore the user's Windows settings for just their icon or does DrWeb somehow turn on that irritating hiding of "inactive" icons in Windows judgement (which seems to mean if not used every five seconds then they are "inactive") for all icons in the tray? I hate having any icons hidden. I was getting ready to try DrWeb as I haven't in several years but that will irritate me to have to keep finding an icon that should be there all the time unless I choose to turn on the Windows XP setting that hides them if "inactive" in Windows judgement. I don't quite understand how DrWeb can override MY Windows settings on tray icons in the first place. DrWeb, or any other application, has no business overriding my settings for Windows.
     
  20. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    The disappearing act occurs because of some aspect of DrWeb's self-protection algorithm. This is also the case with System Safety Monitor's icon. See HITHER.

    Avast 4.8 beta's self-protection manifests the same behavior, although after a slightly longer interval than is true for DRW.
     
  21. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    How come then Avira's self protection and ProcessGuard's neither have this problem? What did they do that DrWeb, SSM and Avast can't seem to do?

    I tried SSM a year ago about and I don't remember this problem.

    Thank you for explaining the cause though as knowing it has to do with the self protection feature sheds a little different light on the matter rather than thinking it was just DrWeb, SSM, etc. being irritating for no particular reason.
     
  22. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    its drwebs preference for the icon to be set to 'hide when inactive'

    what Avira do, they just make the icon disappear (close) at random parts of the day ;)
     
  23. egghead

    egghead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No, they don't.

    I can confirm the hiding of the SSM icon.
     
  24. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    they will, but its quite a long time of inactivity, which you probably wont get anyway.

    when i used to use the icon, i only saw it hidden a handfull of times due to inactivity, but one click on the icon and it restores its activity anyway :)

    i prefer the 'no icon' at all method, its like an antivirus is not even there, just does everything in the background, including my scheduled scan. :)

    egghead, its something you cant change, its something that wont be different on your machine compared to someone elses, its written within drweb.

    i also do hope they change it in the upcoming releases.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.