Dr Web Cure It first time user

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by RedDawn, Aug 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RedDawn

    RedDawn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hi everybody,

    First I'd to thank all the forum regulars, I've spent months here "lurking" on the Forums and have learnt so much from all your posts. Finally the time has come when I need to post myself and I hope you can help me please.

    I would like to try Dr Web Cure It but need some advice. I've searched here and on Google and still have some (newbie) questions.


    How exactly do I setup/use it? I've read I should maybe disable Heuristics in its options before scanning.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/index.php?s=&showtopic=75739&view=findpost&p=416902


    Do I disable my resident AV while Cure it is scanning?


    How do I completely remove it from my system when its finished?



    Basically anything a first time user needs to know.


    Thanks for any help,RD.:)
     
  2. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    If I were you I'd disable my resident anti-virus before running Cure It. Even if it's only on-demand conflicts might still arise between your resident AV and Cure It.

    As for removing...just delete the executable file. That should delete everything, except for temporary folder (where the log is stored). IMHO, you should just leave that alone if you'll perform future on-demand scans.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    definatly DO NOT disable heuristics,

    there are no changes to be made to settings, its already setup for you.

    also, you do NOT need to disable ANY real-time antivirus while running cureit.

    download it from www.freedrweb.com, run it, simple as that.
     
  4. ola nordmann

    ola nordmann Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    I'm not sure if I fully agree here.

    I think the config is a bit messy because under 'File types' it has by default checked to scan archives

    ...but under 'Scanning' all kinds of archive types (zip, rar etc.) is excluded by default.

    This is contradicting and confusing for the user o_O
     
  5. RedDawn

    RedDawn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ireland
    Thanks everyone for your help,

    Seems to be some conflicting replies. I think I'll go ahead and give Cureit a try and keep my fingers crossed. From what I could find out, Cureit's heuristics are reported to be slightly aggressive so I may leave them disabled for my first time scan.

    :)
     
  6. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Leave heuristics enabled. CureIt displays the 'infected' files and you decide what to do with them.
     
  7. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Agree with EliteKiller.
    No need to quarantine/delete anything straight away. You can always research (or ask here) about anything found.
     
  8. RedDawn

    RedDawn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ireland
    Thanks EliteKiller and Tarq57 for the extra advice, maybe I'll just leave CureIt at default settings then.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.