Dr Web 5.x beta info

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by n8chavez, May 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,183
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Interesting that with the new engine, the date says 11 October even though it was released 23 October....Does it really take that long to finish testing the engine? o_O
     
  2. Serge Popov

    Serge Popov AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    41
    Sometimes it takes even longer. Imagine the case when a bug fires one time from 1000, but kills a system to death. We may release it as is, in hope what people will never see the bug, or may spend a month finding the bug.

    Slip dates vs quality.
     
  3. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,183
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I am aware that the extra time would be for testing, but I also noticed some of Dr.Web's technology partners test the engine even further and hence the derivative products get the Dr.Web engine update much later than Dr.Web does. I don't understand why this should happen if Dr.Web has already thoroughly tested the engine...
     
  4. Serge Popov

    Serge Popov AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    41
    The one reason for this is a custom shell code which uses the engine in some specific way. Of course, this requires additional testing.
     
  5. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,665
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Has there been any more information on Dr Web 5.0 released yet? I ask only because I'm considering switching to Avira. Dr Web's memory issues are really starting to bug me. It seems that everything see,s to take more memory with Dr Web installed than with it not; winlogon.exe is using 45 meg right now and DrWebsch is using 25 meg, spidernt is using 20...etc. Why is this? Also, it seems like the physical RAM is being used more than the page file, which was not the case with every other AV I've used. Not even VC had these memory issues. I'm hoping that they will be fixed it 5.0, and that it will be released soon, else I'll have to move on (maybe). I don't mean to say "do this or else," but this is a serious problem that makes my entire system uses 4x as much resources as it should.
     
  6. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    718
    :blink: Memory usage from 500 megs, with Dr.Web Spidermail disabled:

    http://i12.tinypic.com/2ajp8o1.png

    Duh. I forgot about Dr.WebScd.exe - only 5.344 KB
     
  7. marcromero

    marcromero Guest

    My current memory usage, including Spidermail are:

    Spiderml 13,756k
    Spidernt 2,068k
    Spidernt 2,228k
    DrWebSch 4,668k

    and winlogon is running at 2,412k on my laptop. Dr.Web seems pretty efficient to me. Perhaps your memory issue lies elsewhere ? maybe a conflict with some other security software you have running ?
     
  8. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    scheduler - 5492kb
    spiderguard - 2872kb
    spiderguard - 2264kb
    spidermail - 14520kb

    25.1 mb usage here,

    this thread was an interesting read, with an av expert saying scan speeds will be improved alot, this is nice, i also would like to see this.
    also he stated, improved ram usage and heuristics, lets wait and see i suppose. :D

    edit: winlogon is 1540kb here,
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2006
  9. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Wild guess here but maybe you are experiencing this.


    tD
     
  10. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,665
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Yes, that seems to be exactly what is going on. But I thought the memory issue only occured after a scan was run. Is it not? I've had this issue for a long time and rarely run OD scans because of the scanner speed.
     
  11. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    The memory "jump" occurs if you have the "scan memory" option enabled.
    Thus, anytime you start the scanner the first thing it does is a memory scan and the memory usage column will increase accordingly. As has been explained here numerous times, this doesn't mean that much memory is being used. In fact, nothing has changed and it only seems like more memory is being used. If you view the VM column in your task manager you would see that virtual memory usage is unchanged. That is the important number you need to be concerned with.
    The other important thing is... Is your computer sluggish and unresponsive because of this so-called memory leak or are you basing this purely on the numbers you see in the task manager? If your computer seems fine then, really, there is nothing to worry about and it is just the well- known "Jumping Spider" phenomena that you're experiencing. :)
    Further, once you run the scanner if you want the memory usage column to return to "normal" then you will have to reboot in order to do that.
     
  12. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    yep,

    even when im scanning, the winlogon jumps to 44mb ram.

    no idea what it is really, but nor do i care :)
     
  13. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    version 5 will have major
    enhancements:
    - new technologies
    - better performance - better scan speed
    - new interface
    - (possible) one control center to manage components instead
    separate UI for each one


    im gonna try and get some more info from dr.web, this sounds 'too cool' not to fish for information :)

    ----------
    i had a false positive with my new laptop when i did a full scan, dell driver... linux modification, sent it to dr.web, and within the HOUR, replied with:

    Your request has been analyzed. It was false alarm. Fixed.

    Thank you for the cooperation.

    within the hour, omg... i didnt think they would do it sooo quickly
     
  14. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,665
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Can you elaborate more on this?

    - (possible) one control center to manage components instead
    separate UI for each one
    Very Nice...an often requested feature. Would this be similar in implementation to VC?


    True. Thanks very much. Do you have any time frame? Also has the memory issue been discussed, and will version 5 have it fixed?

    Just as a side note this is why I stay with Dr Web.
     
  15. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    98031
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    @CSJ
    i will have to try dr web version 5 since the interface is about the only thing that isnt very good IMO.
     
  17. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    yep, i class the interface as cheap and cheerfull. lol

    reminds me too much of windows 95/98, brings back memorys :D
     
  18. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    I have grown fond of the GUI and don't want to see it drastically changed. All I would like to see is all modules in one interface and not have to open 2 or 3 different ones. Oh yeah, a quarantine with a restore feature.
    But I don't really ever look at it that much.
     
  19. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i cant wait for the new interface, it was due :)

    you'd be suprised how a good / poor / basic interface can change sales of a product aswell.
     
  20. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    To me it is the product, not the pretty face that matters. Guess that is why I like Avira to.:)
     
  21. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    More off topic posts removed and a reminder that the subject at hand is "Dr Web 5.x beta info"

    Bubba
     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Very true, and a darn good beta to.:)
     
  23. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    yep, latest 4.xx beta is running fine here too.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.