Downloading updates with a 3rd-party download manager?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Colvin, Dec 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    Lately I have been having a problem with the Windows download manager; it stalls when downloading larger files. This is particularly frustrating when downloading a large file such as a TI update file (75 megs +). I tried to download the update using FlashGet and it doesn't work. What I would like to know is if 3rd-party download managers are blocked from downloading TI updates? And if not, what is the trick to using them.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    I use a download manager to download software, including Acronis software without any problems. You might check if the download manager you're using is trying to make more than one connection to the download server. If it is, set it to one and try again. Some servers will block attempts to establish multiple download streams.
     
  3. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the reply. I already switched to a single connection after the first failed attempt but no go on that. It does download a file however, regardless if the connection number is set to 1 or more. The file name is "_trueimage9.0.3854_s_en.exe" and it is only 15 KB. The url I'm downloading the update from is the one in my Account/Update section: https://www.acronis.com/my/download/?trueimage9.0.3854_s_en.exe.
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I'd say it's trying to download the actual link code or html page.

    Which download manager are you using? I had problems with one when I was on dialup at some sites. I found the one from Sun (Java based) quite good - though not intuitive to use and the MS one very picky - even refused to download MS stuff at times.

    Try the link mentioned here Note it is the new version, but strangely enough doesn't have the same name - I wonder if there are any other differences.

    Colin
     
  5. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Once you have logged into and can access the download file, any download mgr will work. I regularly use Flashget (with Firefox 2.0) and have no difficulty. It will also download thru the regular Firefox download program.

    If you are on 56K dialup, then I suggest you try Flashget again. Even try downloading another files such as the user file just to make sure all is working correctly.
     
  6. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    It appears that the problem just might be that the TI 9 update does not work in FlashGet, at least on my system, because the URL is "secure", i.e., https://. I was able to download the TI 10 Trial file in FlashGet without any problem which has a "http://" address. But none of the updates for any of the products in "My Updates", all of which are "https://" addresses work. In every case, the download will start but it downloads nothing more than the previously mentioned 15 KB file and completes.

    This is quite frustrating since the default Windows Download Manager always stalls before completion. Thus I cannot get this update.
     
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Colvin,
    My info was wrong. I just tried the new update and I had the same experience as you. However, I was able to use Firefox 2.0 and the download initiated.
     
  8. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    Grover,

    It gets stranger...... I thought perhaps I would have better results in Vista and using its default download manager. So, I booted into Vista, opened IE7 and went to the Acronis homepage. I then tried to login to my account and couldn't even get that far. After typing in my correct e-mail address and password and clicking the login button, I got the "Page Forbidden" error page. Surely the problem cannot be on my end. :rolleyes: Perhaps the server is having a bad day?? hehe Needless to say, I cannot find a way thus far to download the new update for TI 9. I suppose my next step would be to download and install another 3rd-party download manager and try that since XP's download manager stalls out every time.
     
  9. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I'm currently using Free Download Manager.
    So far no problems, download is about 14% complete.
     
  10. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Free Download Manager is currently using 4 streams, so the update is not limiting to one stream, tho at various times, there might be fewer treams available on the server.
     
  11. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    For myself, I use 56K dialup so downloading large files can be a problem--although I did download the trial version of ATI 10 which was 103K which was spread between 3 nights. Flashget handled the split downloads without any difficulty.

    Perhaps, you might want to consider getting yourself a small keychain usb thumbdrive. I recently got both a 1Gig ($19) and a 512K ($12) both on sale at Staples. Now, I can take the thumbdrive and visit either my son-in-law (30 miles away) or my neighbor or the local library. There, I can use their fast connection and download the update onto the thumbdrive--which I did earlier today.

    Another option rather than get a different download manager, why not download the Firefox 2.0 browser and try using that. It is much safer browsing using FF and you might like it. I suspect your error message may relate to a IE7 security setting. You may want to change your settings--perhaps open the Privacy tab in Internet options and set the sliding tab to med or med-low for the download.

    I tried reducing the Flashget download streams to 1 (as Howard suggested) but the update download still failed with Flashget. Flashget makes the connection and then gets a few bytes of data and disconnects from the link.
     
  12. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    I am on dial-up also.
    I when I first became interested in buying TI, I was reading some where on their site that Download managers are not supported. I started downloading using free download manager and it started running fine. It started again the next day with no problem, but on the third day I couldn't resume. I then tried using the "transfer" page in opera, with the same results. I ended up doing as GroverH suggests. Ie: using a flash drive and when I went to my daughters ( 120 miles away) I downloaded TI on her highspeed connection. I made sure beforehand that I had created a login at Acronis.
     
  13. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    1) I am not on dialup.... I'm on Satellite and thus can download at 116+KB/sec.

    2) I have an OCZ 1 gig, dual-channel memory key drive which I use lots.

    3) I downloaded and installed "Free Download Manager" and tried to download the update file again from my Acronis account and it worked fine. For some odd reason, FlashGet doesn't convert to the actual download address for the file. So, the issue is resolved. Thanks to those who recommended "Free Download Manager". :D
     
  14. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Until recently, I used FlashGet.
    I do not like th GUI of eithe flasget or FDM, but recently, even with thye latest version, I've had problems with FlashGet, so I've switched ti FDM, and Iuse Flashgot, not th built-in FDM interface to Firefox.

    FDM has it's own support forum, a plus for any product.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.