Downloading from avira.com

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by 212eta, Nov 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 212eta

    212eta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    67
    For many times, even after giving a format to my pc,
    I tried to download a trial version of AVIRA AntiVir Personal Edition Premium
    from their website (avira.com).

    The result was always the same:
    An .exe file that couldn't successfully decompress itself,
    as a message stopped the entire proccess!
    The message implied that the file was corrupted (i.e. hit by a virus) !!!:mad:
    The same happened with AVIRA AntiVir Personal Edition Classic, which is a freeware!:mad:

    I also tried to download them from other legitimate links, but I ended up with the same corrupted file!:'(
    Here, it is what message-window I receive:

    Setup of Avira AntiVir PersonalEdition Premium (X)
    -----------------------------------------------
    The CRC sum of
    C:\DOCUME~1\HOMEUS~1\Temp\RarSFX0\basic\setup.exe
    has been changed! This could be due to a virus!
    Do you want to shut down Setup?
    ------------------------------------------------
    (OK)
    ------------------------------------------------

    Can you successfully Download & Install from the website of AVIRA?
    Any idea of what is happening?

    <Running WinXP Pro SP2>

    Thank you in advance!!!:)
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2007
  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I never had problems downloading and installing from aviras website. Are you saving the installer onto your disk rather than opening without saving?
    What OS are you running?
     
  3. ChrisBUK

    ChrisBUK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    86
  4. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Zero problems ever downloading.
     
  5. obscene_seven

    obscene_seven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I once had problems decompressing avira classic
    it always got to about halfway, then got stuck
    I don't remember wat the error message was,
    but I found out it was because i had Spyware Terminator on.
    when i turned it off, avira worked.
    so it might be any real time scanner u have on

    hope that helps
     
  6. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    212eta, when is the last time you've tested the stability of your pc with Memtest86+ & Prime95/StressPrime? Like everyone else I can't recall ever having an extraction problem with Avira that's download from any website. Have you tried installing in safe mode?
     
  7. 212eta

    212eta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    67
    First of all, I want to thank you all for offering me your feedback!!!:)
    I problem in Windows Installer 3.1:thumbd: was what
    blocked the execution of the downloaded file!
    Everything is O.K. now!!!:thumb:

    Once again, THANK YOU ALL!!!:)
     
  8. JohnnyBravo

    JohnnyBravo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    82
    I have downloaded a german version once:p
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.