Downloader/Unzipper for F-Prot for DOS

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by DolfTraanberg, Jun 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    People who use F-Prot for DOS (freeware) will find it troublesome every time to download and unzip the virus definitions manually.
    Because of the possibility to subscribe for an update-alert-mailinglist I thought it could be convenient to have a downloader/unzipper which could be triggered by a rule in the mailreader. So I have made one and who is interested they can find it here:

    www.zeylstra.nl/tds/VirusUpdate.zip

    How to use:
    • Download VirusUpdate.zip
    • Unzip it in a temp directory
    • Run setup.exe
    • It is recommended that you make the install location the same as where your F-Prot.exe is located
    • Run the installed program manually
    • The first time it will ask you the location of F-Prot.exe
    • Push the download button (be sure to have internet connection!)
    • When it has downloaded and unzipped the files correct you can start the next time the program from the commandline with "/q" argument like this:

      VirusUpdate.exe /q
    Some remarks:
    The program is written in Visual Basic v6 and uses a couple of dll's which will be placed in {windir}\system32
    it has an uninstaller
    I have tested it only on Windows 2000 sp3
    You may use the program at own risk
    comments are welcome :rolleyes:

    Dolf
     
  2. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Update published
    • Bug fixed
    • Shows downloadpath
    Dolf
     
  3. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    New update 0.2.0.18
    • Before download it checks if it is already up-to-date
    • Looks also for Engine update (Thanks Andreas!)
    Dolf
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Earned yourself a well deserved karma cookie, Dolf :)

    regards.

    paul
     
  5. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    Thanks Dollefie... I'll try your application and post the results. ;)
     
  6. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    Re:F-Prot for DOS

    Thanks Dollefie for your update application. But, I found some problems, I'm connected now, start the update process, choose F-Prot folder, but I did not receive the files. My firewall setting allow the update application to access the Internet. I'm using a proxy. Could you give me some help? The application window just say "Downloading fp-def.zip..... :'(
     
  7. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Well you made it so far
    When it knows where the files are located it will try to download the first time all relevant files.
    If it is saying "downloading fp-def.zip....." it is triyng to download. Make sure you have an open Internet connection and maybe have a port monitor to watch all connections.
    Maybe suspend proxy or firewall once, to look where the problem is.
    (My bet is on the firewall ;))
    Dolf
     
  8. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    Sorry, I tryed both and all that I get is...
     

    Attached Files:

    • im1.gif
      im1.gif
      File size:
      8 KB
      Views:
      1,187
  9. StarFox

    StarFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Alpha Quadrant
    Hy Dollefie !
    I wanted to try your update program for F-Prot Dos - when I start it I get the following message:
    > Runtime Error '429' : ActiveX Component Can't Create Object <
    Anything I can do? (I'm on 98SE)
     
  10. StarFox

    StarFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Alpha Quadrant
    Hy Dollefie !

    It's ok, I solved the problem. I have Windows Scripting Host disabled, for security reasons. If I enable it the program runs perfect.
    No problems on 98 SE so far.

    Excellent job - Thanx very much. Do you mind me mentioning it among friends and in other forums?
     
  11. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    A bit confused though, the program isn't depending on WSH, but maybe the installer is...
    Sure, you can give a link to this thread to anyone :)
    Dolf
     
  12. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2004
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.