downloader small 6

Discussion in 'adware, spyware & hijack cleaning' started by roguetrooper2k1, Jun 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. roguetrooper2k1

    roguetrooper2k1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    scanned with ad-aware
    keep getting avg virus warning but it cannot find it in the scan.
    doing my head in


    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 20:12:52, on 09/06/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\RunDll32.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zapro.exe
    C:\Program Files\Browser PS2 mouse\mouse32a.exe
    C:\Program Files\Multimedia keyboard utility\1.3\KbdAp32A.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\rundll32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S10IC2.EXE
    C:\Program Files\AdsGone\adsgone.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\eEBSVC.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgserv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\SAgent2.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
    C:\tmp\HijackThis.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.msn.co.uk/
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Cmaudio] RunDll32 cmicnfg.cpl,CMICtrlWnd
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] C:\PROGRA~1\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zapro.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [FLMBROWSEMOUSE] C:\Program Files\Browser PS2 mouse\mouse32a.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [FLMK08KB] C:\Program Files\Multimedia keyboard utility\1.3\MMKEYBD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EPSON Stylus CX3200] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S10IC2.EXE /P19 "EPSON Stylus CX3200" /O6 "USB001" /M "Stylus CX3200"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - Global Startup: AdsGone 2004.lnk = C:\Program Files\AdsGone\adsgone.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmtrans.html
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
    O16 - DPF: {62475759-9E84-458E-A1AB-5D2C442ADFDE} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52....apple.com/saba/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?38115.2778935185
    O16 - DPF: {A8658086-E6AC-4957-BC8E-7D54A7E8A78E} (SassCln Object) - http://www.microsoft.com/security/controls/SassCln.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
     
  2. Taz71498

    Taz71498 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Posts:
    674
    Location:
    USA
    Hello roguetrooper2k1,

    First thing I would like you to do is this:

    Delete the contents of the "temp" folder and completely delete the cache folders.

    Open Internet Explorer. Then click on TOOLS in the top toolbar. Click on "Internet Options..." from the drop-down menu.
    A new smaller window will display. Under the "General" tab, in the middle, are 3 buttons.
    Click the Delete Cookies button - then a small warning box pops up. Click OK.
    Click the Delete Files button - a small warning box pops us. Check the box for "Delete all offline content" and click OK.
    Then on the same General tab, click Clear History, then click OK.

    Then I would like you to run this online virus scan:

    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

    There is a little check box by the scan button that says autofix. Check that before scanning.

    Let me know what it finds and where it finds a virus.
     
  3. roguetrooper2k1

    roguetrooper2k1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for your help Taz.
    Housecall didnt find any viruses.
    But avg keeps saying their is one in;
    c:\System Volume Information
    I am unable to access the file nor delete it
    I may have to just put up with it
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    Turn off system restore by following instructions here
    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2001111912274039
    That will purge the restore folder and clear any malware that has been put in there. Then reboot & then re-enable sytem restore & create a new restore point.

    Read here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=27971 for info on how to tighten your security settings and how to help prevent future attacks.

    & go here, click Scan for updates in the main frame, and download and install all CRITICAL updates recommended.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.