Download Squad is closing

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by vasa1, Apr 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
  2. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    :'( :thumbd: Between my numbskull government and corporate buyouts/dumps, I'm losing more and more places to go.
     
  3. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Sad news, they have a lot of good content.
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    downloadsquad was a site id visit daily, its sad to see it go :'(
     
  5. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Same, here.
     
  6. Reimer

    Reimer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    217
  7. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152

    Thank you :thumb:
     
  8. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Woot! *does happy dance* Thanks!
     
  9. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    When I visit the new site, browserscene.com, my browser wants to connect to inst ant fun das . co m. When I look at the source code of the browserscene.com home page, I can't see any reference to this other site. Can anyone verify and explain why this happens (if it does for you as well)?
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,299
    Location:
    England
    Using xp3 sandboxed on Opera with MVPS host file I go to browserscene.com
     
  11. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    This is what I'm seeing but not every time:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    I deliberately went there. It looks like yet another tech blog. I'll block it. End of story.
     
  13. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    I can block it two ways (and I'm sure there are more). One by Privoxy, the other using the firewall. If I block it using the firewall, the actual browserscene page doesn't load.

    "Information
    Your request to visit website ww w.i nstantf undas .c om has been blocked. The website has been denied because the Firewall application rules are set to block this application: Privoxy. "

    As I said, I don't get this every time. Guess I should e-mail one of the authors @ brow sers cene to satisfy my curiosity.
     
  14. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    Both of them and more than 1000 others resolve to same IP, your firewall reversed that IP and randomly picked one those sites.
     
  15. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Thanks for taking the trouble to respond :)

    But it's a bit confusing for me :( .

    I've started keeping a log in Privoxy and let's see what it throws up.
     
  16. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    I think that all these sites are "owned" by Google and Google has found a way to increase hits to these sites even if the user has no need to visit the site. I see similar things when connecting to GMail as well.

    (I do have link-prefetching turned off:
    user_pref("network.prefetch-next", false);)
     
  17. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
  18. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    I saw the reference to the hosts file. That may be impractical given the vast number of blogger.com variants.

    Anyway, it's not a big deal security-wise. I was just interested to know how Google manages to "push" its affiliated or owned sites. Also, it makes one wonder about whether this is just a way to show more hits although they are involuntary.
     
  19. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    No, Google isn't "pushing" anything, it's your Firewall that is confused, that thread is about the same issue, you can test it yourself, put

    in your hosts file, then another entry with the same IP but different site above the browserscene one, then go to www.browserscene.com and see what happens.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.