DOS 6.22 Partition

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by dobber, Aug 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dobber

    dobber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I am running XP Home SP2. I am trying to create a partition using DOS 6.22 as an OS. How do i get the new OS on the new partition. THe floppy with the 6.22 OS wants to place it on the C drive. Thanx Bill
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Bill,

    I went through this experience earlier this year. This works...

    Use DDS from a boot disc to create a primary FAT32 partition on the first HD, make it active. Boot from a Win98SE floppy disc. You can't use a WinME floppy. My partition is only 16 MB but the size is personal.

    The FAT32 partition will be C: drive in DOS. Use "sys.com a: c:" at the A:\ prompt to transfer the needed DOS system files being used on the floppy disc to the C: drive partition. (remember the C: drive here isn't your WinXP partition)

    Boot to Windows and copy the remaining files from the Win98 floppy to the FAT32 partition. The files you want, not all.

    You will have to edit "msdos.sys" to stop the Win98 splash screen from appearing when you boot to DOS from the HD. Now setup your multi-boot.

    I use the DOS partition to do unattended image restores with Image for DOS. Very handy.

    Any questions?

    PS I forgot to mention that the FAT32 partition should be in the first 8 GB of the HD otherwise it may not boot. My partition is at the 290 GB mark and it boots with the assistance of BING.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2008
  3. dobber

    dobber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Brian I do not have a Win98SE floppy. The disk is DOS 6.22. Bill
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Bill,

    I know. You can't do it with your floppies. It wants to install at the start of the HD and wipe out your WinXP. You must use a Win98SE floppy. Get it from here... (the Win98 SE OEM one) It's a more recent DOS anyway.

    http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I shouldn't have said it can't be done with your floppies because that's how I did it before I found the sys C: method.

    Create a 50 MB FAT16 partition at the start of the HD. In front of WinXP. Make it active. Boot to your first 6.22 floppy and start the install. I'll see if I can recall the other advantages of the sys C: method. I certainly decided I'd never install 6.22 again.
     
  6. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I simply made a bootable CD of DOS 6.22 (with FDISK, FORMAT, SYS, ATTRIB, and all the others on it).
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    AKAJohnDoe,

    Which method did you use to make the CD? I'm interested.

    For my purposes, I needed DOS on the HD.
     
  8. dobber

    dobber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Sorry I haven't posted in awile. My floppy died and I am waiting for a replacement. Bill
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Bill, I'm interested in your progress with this issue. Keep in touch.
     
  10. DickDiver

    DickDiver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    51
    Well Hello

    I am interested too in a solution and I wonder I somebody could not share an image of his dos partition. If the bootdisks are for free since years so we should be ok to share dos images or?
    Image made with acronis TI and then...

    thanks
    I am waiting for an image :)
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Dick,

    Don't be so lazy. ;) It's a 5 minute job.

    A floppy drive probably isn't even needed. You should be able to "sys" the DOS partition from a bootable USB floppy drive.
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Dick,

    I just created another bootable DOS partition. It took 3 minutes from start to finish. Not 5 minutes.
     
  13. chirawatf

    chirawatf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    To Brian K and anybody.

    Can anyone created Dos in USB drive to boot Dos and other Dos programs from this USB drive ?

    My goal is to create USB drive that can run "image for Dos" programs to back up my PC.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    chirawatf,

    If you have a floppy drive you can insert a boot floppy and connect your USB flash drive. Boot to the floppy and "sys" the C: drive. The C: drive is the USB flash drive.

    Or you can use this tool..

    http://users.wildblue.net/xpguru43/USBFormat.exe

    Then you just need to add image.exe and IFD.ini
     
  15. chirawatf

    chirawatf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks Brian K for your practical advice.
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    chirawatf,

    Easy. Which method did you use?
     
  17. chirawatf

    chirawatf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    I used Virtual Floppy Drive programs to created virtual floppy drive a:, then entered command sys {usb drive}.
    It worked.
     
  18. dobber

    dobber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I'm back, got the new floopy drive and I found a 6.22 setup. It installed OK.
    Now the Disk Director Suite freezes when I try to access it. Do I reinstall from the CD or will I mess up the whole system?
    Also, I have a Data partitiion (labelled G) but the DOS partition cannot see it.

    Bill
     
  19. dobber

    dobber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Forget the "freezing" problem. I waited it out and the program loaded about 15 minutes after I launched it

    I still have the Data partition problem. The current labels are
    A floppy
    B unassigned
    C hard drive
    D DVD
    E CD
    F DOS 6.22
    G Data (logical)
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Clever. I haven't tried that. Which program did you use?
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Its drive letter will be different in DOS. If it's NTFS you will need ntfsdos.exe to see the partition and read the files.
     
  22. dobber

    dobber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    The logical partition is FAT16. The DOS Partition only recognizes 3

    A and B both are the floppy drive
    C is the DOS partition

    Bill
     
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Bill,

    Is it D: drive?
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Bill,

    I just setup my computer with a FAT-16 logical volume. It appears as D: drive in DOS.
     
  25. chirawatf

    chirawatf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    10
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.