Does TI benefit from MultiCore CPUs and GPUs?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Omicron, Apr 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Omicron

    Omicron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    72
    Does TI benefit from MultiCore CPUs and GPU?
    Will TI work faster if you have a MultiCore CPU or a CUDA or ATI Stream capable GPU?
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    My opinion only:
    If you compare a top end system with a modern good cheaper system just running TI, I doubt that there would be much of an improvement from the extra cores or GPU. TI is most likey constrained by the speed of the disk I/O system.

    If you are running other apps in Windows while making an image then you might see some benefit but it depends on how clever the load sharing is done.

    This is a classic case of "the only benchmark that matters is running the actual configuration".
     
  3. Omicron

    Omicron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    72
    does it mean if you run Acronis True Image on modern SSD Disk, the performance would be much better?

    Are there benchmarks which does show this?
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I'm pretty sure that ATI does not yet support SSDs.

     
  5. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    I've always backup my same 20gb partition (6gb in use) computer from about 3 years. In that time I've upgraded cpu's/motherboards. On my semprom 2800 single core it took about 6 to 8 minutes to backup, on my amd 4800 dual core it takes about 2 minutes to backup. The hard drives/memory I reuse. For me there is a noticeable speed increase when I change cpu's.
     
  6. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    I am using Workstation on an Intel X25 M with no problems.
     
  7. munrobasher

    munrobasher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    Tried restoring from the recovery CD/F11 boot?

    Cheers, Rob.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Products

    Acronis products support Solid State Drives (SSDs). Using Acronis products you can perform the same operations with SSDs as with regular hard disk drives. Check the following KB article


    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  9. eDOC786

    eDOC786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Posts:
    122
    Not at all.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.