Does this look familiar?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by KaneComputing, Dec 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    That's good news.... Thank you for checking on that..... :D
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Guys

    Please do not post any more questions for Greg here. He probably won't be around much. He has requested that questions that users here can't answer be direct to Raxco in a support ticket or go to their forums.

    By the way their support response has been phenomenal. After Acadia contact them the responded with a request for some more info. Acadia suggested they contact me which they immediately did.

    I called them a day later and they had already talked with Todd about the issue. Fortunately it only needed putting Appguard in install mode to resolve the issue.

    It would take a rating above excellent to rank this.

    Pete
     
  3. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,476
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Beautiful!

    So the resurgence of this prize work of art is definite.

    Thanks Pete & Acadia!

    Regards EASTER
     
  4. pinso

    pinso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    249
    This looks and feels exactly like FD-ISR, except the in-ability to create an archive of the Snapshot.

    Thanks for the heads up.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Pinso

    I am suspecting you looked in the wrong place. If you go into the home section you see InstantRescue which is like FD-Rescue, dumbed down. Go into the business section and you will see InstantRecovery which is an improved version of the FD-ISR we all knew and loved.

    Pete
     
  6. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,476
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    It's nice to see this sub forum with some activity once again. Looking forward to reinstituting new storage media once again too.

    Although never a pure imaging app the old version archives and saved snapshots served somewhat similar for me on XP and for bare metal transfers, with a little tidying up, really substituted well in many ways.

    It was the FULL saved (& multiple) snaps that i still have a stockpile of to this day. Talk about longetivity.


    EASTER
     
  7. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,121
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Been having problems with the new IR. This is NOT related to my first problem which was quickly fixed thanks to our Peter. :cool:

    An old problem resurrected itself with this new IR. This was the Windows 665 error, File System Limitation. This affected me on both the original FirstDefense and new IR, and on BOTH my current system and my old (both Win7 Home Premium, 64-bit).

    Sent Raxco a support ticket. Raxco support up to this point has been beyond stellar and includes the past 10 years and a few different products. :cool:

    Let you know how it turns out,
    Acadia
     
  8. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,046

    I have had this installed on my main machine for a week now, with 2 snapshots and no archives. Went into settings to point at my FD ISR archive folder and now GUI will not even open - just gives a strange error.

    run time error 35602
    key is not unique in collection.

    This is installed with a full key - seriulsy thinking of going back to first defense as that was trouble free.


    I have raised a ticket with Raxco - I guess I'll have to wait until Monday for a response
     
  9. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,046
    Fixed that but now I can create snapshots but archive always fail with a write error...... very strange as the disk checks out and First Defense never failed to create archives on this system
     
  10. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,875
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Oh my god! I cant believe the legend is back!
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Alive well and better then ever.

    Pete
     
  12. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,875
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Tears of Joy. With the cuopon there was no hesitation to pay for it. :thumb:
     
  13. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Wasn't it Raxco who pulled FDISR off the market?
     
  14. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,987
    Folks, no intention of purchasing this (at least at $70) as AX64 has been working great, however, in the vein of "two" snapshot apps, does this mess with the MBR and does it support trim? Thank you!
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Lets not go there. But briefly the answer is no.
     
  16. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,476
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    The next generation..... First Defense ISR = Instant Recovery. Almost given up on a comeback but it was inevitable given the Xtreme usefulness of this technology.

    So happy it's back!

    EASTER
     
  17. gregshayes

    gregshayes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I'm not able to find the support ticket for this. How did you open the support ticket? If submitted online, you should have received an email with a case number. What is that case number?
     
  18. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,121
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Goodness, thanks a ton Greg, but I believe it is being taken care of. I originally replied to an email sent by Bruce Atkins and I believe that Bob Nolan is now involved in some way. The case number is 00026211.

    Raxco's support has been awesome.
    Acadia
     
  19. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,188
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Snapshots on protected volume... SSD space problems?

    While reading this thread and comments concerning RIR, I get the idea that the snapshots are pretty sizable in relation to the SYSTEM partition (close to the same size I imagine). With the advent of SSDs, and their associated costs, many users have reorganized their systems so that the SSD contains the main system only (to keep them small and affordable) and the voluminous data is elsewhere.

    With this in mind, and the fact that RIR must store its snapshots on the protected (SYSTEM) volume, I see a system with multi-snapshot requirements needing a very large (and expensive) SSD for the SYSTEM drive. For you SSD users, is this really the case, or are most of the previous FD-ISR, current RIR users actually dealing with HDD spinners for their SYSTEM partition?

    I'm just curious how folks are approaching this type of solution...
     
  20. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,046
    Re: Snapshots on protected volume... SSD space problems?

    Perhaps I have 256GB SSD for system and 2TB or 3TB hardisks for data or archives. I never mix system and data.

    At the moment I tend to use 2 snapshots - a current build and a safe always boot. At the moment I am only using win 8. In the past I had a couple of other OS snapshots that i booted as required.

    I then make use of archives as a quick backup - (they don't work on my main machine at the moment - I'm guessing an issue with migrating to the new build form FDISR) And shadow protect for bare metal if required.



    In fact it is exactly the same layout as I use when I use AX64 time machine. For me rollback RX is just not good enough to use as it does fail.
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Re: Snapshots on protected volume... SSD space problems?

    Hi Froggie

    What I've always done is of course my main or primary snapshot is my c drive. Then I make a second snapshot which is totally stripped down. It is only used for restoring archives, which are non bootable copies of the c drive that can be stored on another drive.

    Pete
     
  22. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,875
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Re: Snapshots on protected volume... SSD space problems?

    I have only a 120GB SSD so I can not have more than two snapshots. I have ordered a bigger (2TB) hybrid SSHD drive (they wasnt as expensive as I thought). And yes, I am a previous hard core FDISR user so I am willing to make the very small sacrifice and loose some speed to be able to use InstantRecovery the way I want :)
     
  23. gregshayes

    gregshayes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Support for GPT is on the roadmap. As soon as we get InstantRescue out the door, next up for InstantRecovery is GPT support.
     
  24. gregshayes

    gregshayes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    The issue was with NTFS compression - which fragments the crap (pardon my language) out of files. What happened is that files were so fragmented that NTFS couldn't create any more File Attribute Records to describe the fragments.

    We provided Acadia with an updated ISRCopy.exe that does NOT compress the archive and he is now able to archive. The plus side is that by NOT compressing, performance is faster. The downside is that the archive may (but not always) take more space. For a future build of InstantRecovery we are planning on making this a configuration option (compress or not compress).
     
  25. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,121
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    First of all I would like to thank Greg and crew for the fast and excellent tech support which will not surprise most of you. Second, my new archives are very similar in size to those created by the older engine, not sure what's going on here but I will say this: The speed of new archive creation has at least doubled, and the time cut in half, and no more errors. (This is copying an SSD onto both another internal drive and other external drives).

    Acadia
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.